EMPLOYEE SPOTLIGHT — TOM GORUP

TOMGORUPFAMPIC

Welcome to our Employee Spotlight blog series, which features Q&A’s from Rook employees as a fun way for you to get to know our team.

Name: Tom Gorup
Title: Security Operations Lead
Time at Rook: 3 years
Current City: Indianapolis, IN
Hometown: Oak Forest, IL / Crown Point, IN

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/tom-gorup-9a355452

Twitter: @TGorup

Before working at Rook Security, what was the most unusual or interesting job you’ve ever had? Before I worked at Rook I was in the U.S. Army as an Infantry Squad Leader. I deployed to Iraq and Afghanistan. Among a number of other accomplishments I was selected for Special Forces. Very interesting training / experience. All around great experience!

What has been your favorite memory/achievement working at Rook Security? Everyday. When I walk into work and watch the team operate and continuously innovate and protect our clients, I feel proud and accomplished to be a part of a team this great.

What is your family like? They are amazing! My wife, Stephanie, is an amazing mother and wife. She constantly goes above and beyond, whether it’s creating weekly lesson plans for the kids or making my lunch. My son and daughter are constantly amazing me as they grow and discover the world around them.

What do you like to do in your spare time? Being with my family and learning.

Best vacation you’ve been on? Costa Rica.

Where else have you lived? Different parts of IL and IN, along with being stationed at Ft. Drum, NY (10th Mountain — To the top! — Iraq), Ft. Bragg, NC (USAJFKSWCS — If you know this acronym you know why I was there), Ft. Benning, GA (Basic training and Airborne school), and Ft Campbell, KY/TN (101st Airborne — Afghanistan)

What is the first concert you attended? Rob Zombie and Metallica. I was pretty young, so it was quite the experience given the type of people and area’s of the anatomy that are put on display at rock concerts like that.

What is your favorite sport/team/athlete? Cubs!!!! I always liked Greg Maddux especially. Intelligent pitcher not just looking to throw 110 mph fast balls all day. Really more about working the batter and placement.

What did you want to be when growing up? Lawyer for a while, a Doctor, then an archeologist and probably an astronaut for a little while.

What is an ability you wish you had? To ‘download’ knowledge on the spot. Sometimes I get impatient when it takes time to fully understand a concept or technology.

What is the biggest risk you have ever taken? Too many to decide on which one was the biggest.