Employee Spotlight: Vigo Wei

Rook Security
SECOPS
Published in
2 min readOct 15, 2015
vigo_dance

Welcome to our Employee Spotlight blog series, which features Q&A’s from Rook employees as a fun way for you to get to know our team.

Name: Vigo Wei
Title: Developer
Time at Rook: 1 year
Current City: Indianpolis, IN
Hometown: Taiyuan (the Dragon City), China
Twitter: @VigoWei

Before working at Rook Security, what was the most unusual or interesting job you’ve ever had?

This is my first real job out of college. I had many jobs in college including being a TA, a notetaker, a lab assistant etc. but the most unusual was being a dancer for the Slaughter Project (a dance company in St. Louis).

What has been your favorite memory/achievement working at Rook Security?

Winning the Agent Smith Award for development, but everyone on the Dev Team is a good agent with their special powers. We had the best time at JJ’s company party.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I like to travel, my goal is to visit all 50 states before I’m 50 (if I make it). I also like to play video games, my favorite is an indie game called Spelunky. I also like to dance and I’ve been taking modern technique classes at Motus.

Best vacation you’ve been on?

I went to Las Vegas for my 25th birthday and stayed at the Venetian. OMG, it’s the biggest hotel I’ve ever seen! When I wasn’t busy losing money I got to visit Madam Tussauds wax museum. The Strip was in general over the top, downtown was crazy, the Hoover Dam was remarkable, and hot!

What’s your favorite line from a movie?

“I see dead people” from The Sixth Sense, which helped me come up with my online alias: “i_c_dev_ppl”.

What is the first concert you attended?

Katy Perry’s California Dreams tour at Bankers Life.

If you could meet anyone in the world, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Tu Youyou, who won the 2015 Nobel Prize for Physiology/Medicine. She is the first Chinese national to win a Nobel Prize in science. Not only did she survive the Cultural Revolution during which many Chinese intellectuals were condemned and imprisoned, she also saved millions by finding a cure for malaria.

Where is your favorite local restaurant?

Murphy’s Steak House, they have great steaks, great service and great drinks. It’s now named Murphy’s @ Flynn’s after moving to their new location.

If you were an animal, what would you be?

A pug. Oh wait, I just want a pug.

When was the last time you laughed so hard you cried?

This must sound silly. My friend told me a joke, and it goes, “why did the bicycle keep falling down… because it’s too tired”.

--

--

Rook Security
SECOPS
Editor for

Global provider of IT security solutions protecting against dynamic, emerging threats. -- Inc. 500 Company in 2014.