Interview with Peggy Hartanto

ROOMOOMO
select by ROOMOOMO
Published in
3 min readAug 18, 2016

“What it takes for Indonesian fashion to make it on the global fashion stage are knowledge, determination, and hard work.”

select by ROOMOOMO interviewed the under-the-spotlight emerging fashion designer Peggy Hartanto to find out more about her fashion journey.

“Since I was little I was involved so much in stage performances, I thought I will be a professional dancer or ice skater when I grow up.

Fashion design is a profession that has never crossed my mind until when I was in high school and become more interested in clothes. I always loved art and I realized that fashion is a great medium for my passion, as well as a promising career.”

How did your designs and the brand evolve from the early collections to now?

“PEGGY HARTANTO’s design is an extension of my personal style, and it also evolves by time, along with my interest and experience. On the other hand we also take our customer’s input into account, and the collection has now grown larger. From the event-only staples, we now have pieces that woman can wear everyday such as chic shirts, or feminine cropped tops.”

How would you describe your typical customer?

“I always feel amazed when someone tags and mentions us with @peggyhartanto and #peggyhartanto on Instagram, because I always feel that they are looking perfect in their dresses. So I think the representation of PEGGY HARTANTO women are all of them who feel so great and have beautiful moments in their life, embracing their role as loving moms, graduating students, best friends, while seeing their friend tie the knots, etc… feeling beautiful and confident in PEGGY HARTANTO.”

Is there any particular Indonesian influence in your designs?

“Indonesians are proud of the detailed design, and a high quality craftsmanship. Although our style characteristic is not surfacing Indonesian’s culture, we adopt this value thoroughly.”

What’s the biggest challenge for you to bring your designs to the world?

“The world is huge, and we introduce our designs to them through celebrities, bloggers, and retailers. It is very important to have people and retailers that represent your brand well and strong, because the competition out there is stiff. The biggest challenge is to find the right person or company to work together.”

When you compare yourself to other prominent fashion designers of Indonesia, where do you see yourself?

“As designers, we complement each other. Each and every designer carries different characteristics, and different styles. PEGGY HARTANTO focuses more on the feminine bold silhouette, which is presented in its minimalist look.”

What has been your proudest moment in your history as a fashion designer so far?

” Have my parents to witness my progress, as a designer and a person, is the proudest moment of my career journey.

My parents came to the PEGGY HARTANTO debut runway show at Jakarta Fashion Week in 2012 to support me at the student/graduate runway show representing Raffles College, Australia. 3 years forward, in 2015 they came again to the same fashion week, to watch my runway as the final show, Dewi Fashion Knight, which is the most prestigious runway in JFW.”

THANK YOU.

Read more and shop PEGGY HARTANTO up to 60% off at ROOMOOMO.com
Original article first published at
select by ROOMOOMO

--

--