I Started a Poetry Publication

Matthew
Rooms Of Light
Published in
2 min readNov 4, 2022

--

So, I started a poetry publication. For a few reasons, first it’s a place just to group my own poems apart from the other things I write about. Second, I thought it might open a door to discovering and sharing the work of other poets on medium. And third because, frankly, some of the poetry publications on medium already I’ve found to be a bit too ‘spammy’, less about poetry and more about suffocating you with links.

So, this is for poetry, not bombarding people with links to more articles full of links to other articles full of links to subscribe or sign up, or labyrinthine scrolling you have to navigate before you find how to submit.

It’s just me, at this moment, but if you want to join me, or if you just want me to read and share your work, leave a comment expressing your interest, I’ll add you as a writer and you will be able to submit your poems.

It’s called ‘Rooms of Light’. It’s a name I’ve had floating around after witnessing an art exhibition in Tokyo called ‘borderless’, an extraordinary immersive experience full of projected light — see someone walking through it here.

I like the image of a poem as a container for light, an orientation point to return to when you lose your way, both an experience and an instrument to allow you to see around you, to illuminate the strange world around. To be aware for a moment, in the words of the philosopher Roger Scruton that ‘individuality and identity are the outward forms taken by a single inner fire, and that this fire is also you.’

So, share your light too, let’s see what happens. Check it out here.

--

--