The Cage

Karen Kessi-Williams
Rooms Of Light
Published in
1 min readDec 16, 2023
image©KJ Kessi-Williams

Life on Earth
so dazzling bright
the light of love shines day and night
Nature, turn it down
your beauty hurts my eyes
makes me cry
I turn away, say goodbye
wish upon a dying star
take me far, take me home with you

I fear the beauty here
so real
scared that too much love
will break this chained-up heart
will tear this cage apart

When I allow myself to see
You pierce through the spaces
between patterns of me
with such speed, stealth, intensity
past the guardian of mind
to expand as infinity
from within, deep inside
slamming against the walls of my cage
this self-reflective self-image
with a force that could kill the weak

Death is no grim reaper, but sweet liberation
here, in light, is what I seek

But I turn my face away
and weep, and lie
I’m too busy to fly, or die, today
can’t you see I have all these chains to repair?
without this cage
then where, and who, am I?

--

--