If You Mostly Drink Full-Bodied Red Wines You’re Not Alone, But You Are Missing Out

Other wines are banging at your door and it’s time to open your home to them

Charlie Brown
Rooted

--

Photo by John Vid on Unsplash

During my time on the wine shop and bar floor, I guesstimate that 65% of the wines I sold were red.

And most of those were full-bodied reds. Cabernet Sauvignon. Zinfandel. Malbec.

Honestly, it made me want to cry.

Not because I don’t like full bodied red wine but because it meant people were missing out on a whole world.

Light reds. Rich whites. Rosé. Sparkling.

Perhaps you know what I mean. Perhaps when you buy wine you look for those that fill your mouth with rich fruit and a whack of oak. Especially if you’re looking for something decent.

And like I always say — you do you.

But having said that, I hope once you’ve read this, you might give other styles the chance they deserve too, especially when you’re looking for a decent bottle.

Because whilst no good was ever found at the bottom of a $5 bottle of white wine, a $25 bottle is another matter completely.

I get it. You want a party in your mouth

--

--

Charlie Brown
Rooted
Editor for

Writer of opinions. Wine & food pro. Editor of Rooted, a boostable Medium food & drink pub. Niche-avoidant. Also at thesaucemag.substack.com