A Radical Feminist’s Resource List For Body Autonomy

Chantel
Rooted + Revived
Published in
4 min readJul 27, 2020

WOMEN LISTEN UP 🗣

I have been seeing so much panic and uncertainty about how we are going to maintain our health and our bodies and the functions of our family during this time.

Well, I guess you can say I was made for times like these, because in many ways that are important to me, I have been deliberately crafting my life in such a way that places my dependency on my own self sufficiency and a close inner circle of trusted people, rather than the state for the last decade.

THIS IS WHY I always advocate for reproductive sovereignty and a total rejection of the pharmaceutical industrial complex. Because now, those who rely on these systems, feel screwed.

I have seen pregnant women scrambling to change their birth plans and feel unsure of where they can give birth now. I have seen articles being posted about how abortions are unavailable for the time being. I have seen mothers reaching out online trying to find people that can donate diapers because there are none in the stores/online. I have seen people asking one another how they are keeping their kids “educated” right now. I have seen a woman ask if she should cancel her annual woman’s exam. I see our mental health declining.

LET ME HELP YOU. Please lean on me as a vast well of resources. But most of all…

💥PLEASE TAKE THIS AS AN OPPORTUNITY TO RECLAIM YOUR LIFE AS A SOVEREIGN WOMAN AND TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY FOR YOUR HEALTH.

It truly is so satisfying, for me, as a woman. ✨

Here is a list of resources (mostly books) that I believe, EVERY WOMAN should have on her bookshelf, Covid-19 or no Covid-19. I believe women could be healed if more were willing to stand in the face of the cultural messaging and own their lives, fully.

Anyway….here are some resources for women right now (and always):

👉🏼Pregnant? 🤰🏼

www.freebirthsociety.com has the most comprehensive online guide to autonomous, physiological birth that exists. I also recommend listening to their podcasts for hella inspo.

Also, Unassisted Childbirth, by Laura Shanley and Sacred Birthing, by Sunni Karl.

👉🏼Abortion? 🤷🏼‍♀️

Natural Liberty: Rediscovering Self-Induced Abortion Methods, by Sage Femme Collective.

Also, there are women care providers, herbalists, and midwives who walk with and care for women who are doing abortions out of the system. I know some personally. Let me know if you need support here. And no, none of this involves a coat hanger 😏

And thank God for this opportunity to slow down and really check in with yourself about your beliefs and motives and cultural influences that are playing a role in this decision.

👉🏼Women’s health. Cervical health. Check ups? 🍩

Our Bodies, Ourselves: A Book By and For Women.

Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom, by Christiane Northrup

If you are having acute symptoms or issues “down there,” I am trained to insert a speculum and view and assess a cervix. I also know other women locally who can as well. I do not personally have the tools to formally diagnose anything, but there are at-home HPV testing kits online at www.letsgetchecked.com and there is an abundant amount of information on how to clear up HPV naturally.

I would start with googling, “Aviva Romm MD HPV” and read her blogs and listen to her podcasts on cervical health.

ALSO, I am available to teach women how to self insert a speculum and assess their cervix when necessary. You can buy speculums online.

👉🏼Baby/child care and hygiene, diapering, etc. 🤱🏼

-Diaper Free: Gentle Wisdom of Natural Infant Hygiene, by Ingrid Bauer.

-The Nourishing Traditions Book of Baby & Childcare, by Sally Fallon Morell

-Zero Waste Baby, available on Kindle (Amazon).

-How to Raise A Healthy Child…Inspite of Your Doctor, by Dr. Robert Mendelsohn

👉🏼School/education? 🌈📚

-Free to Learn, by Peter Gray
-Teenage Liberation Handbook, by Grace Llewellyn
-Magical Child, by Joseph Chilton Pierce

This link provides a lot more resources, too

https://waldorfinspiredlearning.com/resources-for-waldorf-…/

👉🏼Fertility struggles, Birth control, Family Planning? 🌱

-Taking Charge of Your Fertility, by Toni Weschler
-Brighton Baby, by Roy Dittmann
-Your Brain On Birth Control, by Sarah Hill
-Honoring Our Cycles, by Katie Singer

👉🏼Mental health flare ups? Depression? Anxiety?🧠

-’A Mind of Your Own’ and ‘Own Yourself’, both by Dr. Kelly Brogan.

I know right now more than ever, it feels like our freedom is being taken away. Luckily there are some things that innately belong to us, and can never be taken.

--

--

Chantel
Rooted + Revived

Medical Freedom, Birth Politics, Reproductive Sovereignty, Femininity > Feminism, Radicle living. @rooted.is.radicle = IG