About

Jake Hagan
The Road Home
Published in
2 min readDec 6, 2015

Living in Statesboro as the youngest grandchild, I have grown up wondering a lot of things. I wondered why Grandmama cried all the time, and why did she not know who I was? I remember years earlier when I was only 3 or 4 years old. We had Christmas Eve at my grandparent’s house, and Grandmama cooked the best food ever. After dinner, she sat and played with me. We played with my new Thomas the Train playset. Only a few years later, she was frail and confused. Alzheimer’s disease had taken over her brain, and I was too young to understand. One thing I remember was when she asked my mom to pray with her to receive Jesus as her Savior because she could not remember if she had asked Him before. She passed away before I really got to know her, but her legacy lived on from the people that spoke of her love and how her ability to cook could bring anyone together. Now as the youngest, I have to pick up the pieces to really learn about my family’s routes and routes.

Roots and Routes… In my English 1102 class, we were given the task of making an ancestral history of our families by discovering the roots of our blood and the routes that got us where we are today. As a freshman at the University of Georgia, I worked on this project for a semester by doing research on Ancestry.com, reading multiple books and novels, and interviewing my Grandfather and Dr. Keith Bertrand, an expert in agriculture at UGA in the Animal and Dairy Science department. This website is a journey of self discovery that conveys the story of my family.

--

--