DOING THIS

steve wardrip
ROSINE MAGAZINE
Published in
3 min readAug 2, 2015

By m.s.wardrip

“Did this. Going to do that. Nonsense! Here is what I AM doing NOW! I am writing.

Many whiners are complaining with conflict and trouble, talking themselves into more of the same. Meanwhile, back at the keyboard, the keystrokes of two index fingers click. (It helps me to concentrate by typing slower and I do this with two-finger typing, not that I never learned proper posturing in “Typing 101” class, I did. Typing fast is for people in a hurry. I like the tempo.of slowness, much like a moderate Waltz with refreshing interludes, breaks, rests, accoutrements and embellishments)

History is always inaccurate and I’m not so sure we’ve learned anything by focusing on it, in fact we probably produced more of the same. The future is yet to be, so how can we even discuss it? It’s not ridiculous to think that we can know the future without guessing. It’s not ridiculous to observe the past and future in the present as we can do that now. At least I can. There’s a place I go, a zone, if you will which is a physical place where I can just watch. It really is “outside looking in” and it’s not “pie in the sky” logic. It is watching, observing, peeking or seeing. I like to think of it as “taped before a LIVE audience.”

So you did this or that and you are going to do this or that and you are doing this or that, now what? Doing? What is doing but running along dumb and happy? Motion without inspiration is void and meaningless. Just as the stars turn in unison, they are now without merit as void bodies floating through the heavens. They are powerful life forms that have purpose and meaning. They always have, always will and are presently doing so now, right now.

We, matter, are all united and in motion, we expand and absorb, grow and learn and the source that is the power is like a big bang, or explosion sending forth particles of matter, intelligence and energy, condensed and overflowing with life force, spreading out to fill the void, to move, to unfold, to morph and change and wither and die and rebirth and regenerate and relive the experience of past, present and future. We are, have been and will be. We are the guiding star. We are the glue that holds the Universe together. We are the propelled and we are the propellant as we propel proper.

Writing is a good motion. I like the speed. I like the true meaning of self and the true proper placement of self in the true and enlightened realm of existence, here in the forested desert plane, in the valley of the peak, between hot and cold, dry and wet, dark and light. I like it fine and I did before and will in the future.

Writing. It is my forte to sing, dance, run, play, attack and be attacked, give and take, to explain and be explained to, to cry and laugh and shock and get complacent, to oppose, to be in favor, to brutalize and to pamper, caress and slap, from this day forward until death do us part… woah, Nellie! Death? Preposterous. I shall not let an inconvenience like death spoil my party. Death, take a backseat! We living are doing now. Take that death! Ha! We are doing now. You can’t stop me from doing a lot of things. Death, I win if you are trying to defeat me. You only do one thing, alas, you do it well, but I am doing many, many things as I am alive and not dead, either before, during or after you show up, I am still doing. Do you hear me, death? I am doing because I am alive regardless of your inconvenient action. Goodbye death, I appreciate you but I have more important things to do. This concludes today’s writing sermon on the mount. I am happily alive and purposely doing right now. NOW! Doing this.

www.drippy.net

--

--

steve wardrip
ROSINE MAGAZINE

Writer of Rumors, Gossip, Lies and Dreams — Poet, Scallywag, Whippersnapper and Galactic Co-Pilot