How a job can make all the difference in The Philippines

Hans Kramer
ROSINE MAGAZINE
Published in
2 min readMar 20, 2017
Anthony Gaw

According to the ILO (International Labour Organization) The Philippines have the highest unemployment rate in South-east Asia. Estimately 12 million Philippinos have no job. Now, that’s a problem. At Lendahand we provide loans in emerging economies to create jobs and smiles. We spoke with Anthony Gaw, an entrepreneur from San Pablo City Laguna in the Philippines. An inspiring man!

Anthony saw the unemployment and acted: “I hire people who have been without a job for a while. Having no job here, means that you have one meal a day. At best. Moreover, your children can’t attend school. So, a job makes all the difference; now and in the future!”

Bachelor in Biology
Most of the 15 employees have only completed primary school. In contrast to Anthony himzelf. “I have always been interested in flowers. After obtaining my Bachelor of Biology at the University of Manila, I founded my own company. We specialize in vertical gardens: upright structures decorated with plants and colorful flowers. We have developed our own fertilizer, based on coconut fiber.”

No difference
In addition to the 15 permanent employees, Anthony also hires temps in high season. And occasionally Anthony attracts seniors from the neighbourhood for small jobs. “I make no distinction between permanent and temporary employees in terms of pay. Everyone gets an above average salary and receives three free meals a day. My employees are like family to me.”

Cheaper and more sustainable
Anthony is proud. The company has grown significantly since its inception in 2009. The loan he received from Lendahand and partner NPCF was of great importance for that growth. “With the loan I could buy plants before I really needed them. That means I could buy the plants when they were smaller, and thus cheaper. I’ve grown them myself, also to get new plants. It now gives me quite a purchase advantage. So, the loan helped us to work cheaper and more sustainable.”

“The collaboration with NPCF and Lendahand was very pleasing. The interest rate is competitive, but just as important is the good contact. They don’t just lend money, but also think along with issues such as capacity building. It really feels like a partnership on an equal base. I am treated as a promising entrepreneur, and not as again someone who needs money to keep his head above water.”

International
“It’s my dream to welcome a few large companies as clients,” said Anthony. “Preferably also from outside the Philippines. So, right now I’m talking with a number of hotels in Singapore. Our vertical gardens are a real attraction and could give those hotels just the extra charisma they need.”

--

--

Hans Kramer
ROSINE MAGAZINE

Making the world a more beautiful place | digital marketing & PR | social media | drummer boy| singer | proud dad of 3 (almost 4!) | Lendahand.com