How to beat those [winter] travel blues — Part 2/3

Moisture, Moisture and More Moisture!

Kathleen Killin
ROSS’ #LegalTech Corner
4 min readFeb 9, 2017

--

For the second edition of how to beat those [winter] travel blues, I spoke with Natasha Batshon, a Toronto based Holistic Nutritionist and BioEnergetics Practitioner. Natasha received her designation of Certified Nutritional Practitioner from The Institute of Holistic Nutrition and graduated with First Class Honours. Natasha holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Psychology from The University of Western Ontario. She is also certified and registered in the practice of BioEnergetics and Clinical Iridology, which provide her clients with an additional avenue to achieve and maintain healthy living.

Natasha specializes in the emotional, mental and physical connection between health and wellness. She believes that an ideal state of health can be achieved through a lifestyle that embraces nutritious foods, appropriate supplementation and energetic balance. Her goal is to guide and support her clients through their journey on the path to better health and wellness, one step at a time. Her knowledge, passion and love of nutrition are undeniable and something she wholeheartedly shares with her clients.

1. What snacks do you carry in your bag?

I always have a bag of almonds in my purse. They are such a great go-to snack because they contain healthy fats, fibre and protein, so they help balance your blood sugar and keep you nice and full between meals. A granola bar or a protein bar is always great option as well. Quite often conventional snack bars are full of sugar and dairy, so I always like to read the label to make sure they are low in sugar and dairy free. Genuine Health makes a Fermented Vegan Protein Bar that is healthy and tastes great.

2. Your complexion is flawless, what advice do you have to frequent travellers to keep their skin fresh?

Moisture, moisture, moisture! I always travel with my favourite facial mist called Face Food by Graydon Skincare. It’s like a breath of fresh air for your skin. It also helps refresh and set your makeup. There are lots of similar facial sprays on the market; I like this spray in particular because the ingredients are clean and chemical free.

3. What are some workout tips one could do in a hotel room?

I love using YouTube videos when I don’t have access to a gym. There are so many phenomenal YouTube channels that have exercise videos of varying lengths and intensities, depending on how much time you have and how hard you want to workout. Popsugar Fitness is one of my favourite channels, you can do full body workouts with zero equipment and, they’re fun!

4. Since it is cold season (as well as conference season!), what are your suggestions on keeping healthy?

I always have Zinc and Echinacea lozenges in my bag because they help support your immune system, and they taste yummy. I also take a supplement called Deep Immune by St. Francis Herb Farm during the winter months. It’s an herbal supplement that helps maintain a healthy immune system and helps increase your body’s resistance to stress. I try to not touch my nose or my mouth when I’m out, especially if I’ve been shaking hands with people. I always have an all-natural hand sanitizer with me, which is a spray from The Honest Company.

5. What are some general other tips/tricks that you would give to a frequent traveller to remain healthy?

Getting as much sleep as you can, staying hydrated and not going too long between meals are all really important to staying healthy while traveling. When we don’t get enough sleep our body starts to get rundown and it makes it much easier to get sick. Drinking lots of water is important too because staying hydrated helps keep your body fueled and energized. When you go too long without eating you are more likely to make poor food choices because you tend to grab something that is fast and usually unhealthy. Keeping snacks on hand and deciding what you want for dinner ahead of time can help prevent you from grabbing a slice of pizza or getting fast food.

Natasha — thank you SO much for speaking with me! As an aside, I see Natasha myself and with her help has truly changed my life. If you want to reach out to Natasha, you can email her at natashabatshon@gmail.com and learn more here.

***

The last part of these series will feature Cassandra Patmanidis a holistic nutrition consultant and founder of For the Love of Me! In the meantime, keep calm and drink water!

--

--