#LegalTechLives with Monica Bay, Current Fellow at CodeX: The Stanford Center for Legal Informatics

Kathleen Killin
ROSS’ #LegalTech Corner
4 min readDec 19, 2016

This edition’s guest on #LegalTechLives is Monica Bay, a current Fellow at CodeX: The Stanford Center for Legal Informatics, and an experienced columnist and contributor to legal publications for over thirty years, including serving as Editor-In-Chief for Law Technology News and Editor at The Recorder. Monica is a frequent contributor to Bloomberg BNA Big Law Business, Above the Law, and speaks of the intersection of law and technology on the Law Technology Now podcast, Legal Talk Network. She has been named a leader in LegalTech and prominent spokeswoman on gender diversity, a strong passion of mine. Monica is a great role model for young women entering the realm of legal tech and I am very excited to be featuring her on #RLC!

Kathleen Killin: First, I want to congratulate you on being named one of the top ten “2016 Women of Legal Tech” selected by ABA’s Legal Technology Resource Center. What an amazing accomplishment! What advice do you have for young women entering the industry?

Monica Bay: 1) Follow your passions and don’t let ANYONE (especially parents, husbands and other family members) tell you that “you wouldn’t fit there” etc. Parents: Tell your children that “they can do anything — it may not be easy, but go for it!” 2) Read Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg. 3) Play or watch baseball: It will teach you everything you need to know about succeeding in careers. (And watch “Pitch” )

KK: How did you become interested in the intersection of law and technology?

MB: When I was 26 I worked at a small rock and roll radio station in Sacramento, as the public affairs director. It’s a long story, but I was one of the first three people to report on United Way and some of the predatory tactics they used. After it aired, I was talking to my father and told him that if I had it to do over again, I would go to law school, because I was so annoyed by how United Way tried to dodge my questions. I expected my Dad would say, “Really? More school?” but he said “Why not! If you go for a year and don’t like it, you’ll still benefit from what your learned.” The rest is history.

KK: I have been following your CodeX blog for awhile, what piece of advice can you give to other legal tech bloggers (such as myself)?

MB: Avoid legal jargon like the plague. Never ever ever use the word “solution” unless it’s a sentence about math. Jargon builds walls, English (or the language of your choice) builds bridges.

KK: How do you believe the implementation of technology in law will assist access to justice?

MB: It’s going to be dramatic — 80% of Americans cannot find or afford a lawyer in civil matters (including crucial issues such as foreclosures and protective restraints against abuse. Tech is going to make all of legal better, faster, cheaper and more transparent. It’s already happening, even if too many Baby Boomers are still resistant. Get involved with CodeX: The Stanford Center for Legal Informatics and read everything you can about legal startups. It isn’t going to be easy but it will be spectacular.

KK: To prepare for this interview, I read up on your biography and was feeling tired myself by the second sentence! Do you use a specific app or piece of technology to keep track of deadlines?

MB: I love talking about tech but I am not as fast as I would like to be (I’m not “under-the-hood). I’m mostly an Apple girl, and I love Google et al, but you can’t pry my Office 365 Outlook. That’s how I run my career.

KK: I saw that you are a Yankees fan (my condolences…go Jays go!), what are your favourite toppings on a ballpark hotdog?

MB: A grand slam. (P.S. CUBs ROCK!!!!!!)

Monica, thank you so much for speaking with me! I really love your tips — I read Lean In a few years ago and am an avid follower of Sheryl Sandberg. My copy is so dog-eared and worn that I also bought it on my e-reader! I think she, like yourself, has really gotten the conversation rolling and given women confidence that they can succeed in the world of technology. Since our mutual love for baseball is definitely apparent, I’m going to leave you with my favourite baseball moment in recent history…

(GO JAYS GO!)

***

Keep an eye out for the next edition of #LegalTechLives with Casey Flaherty, founder of Legal Tech Assessment and advisory board member of NextLaw Labs where we talk the importance of remaining tech proficient!

--

--