New Writers are a Rough Crowd

Unfiltered, Unedited, First-Draft Kind of People Welcome to Submit Stories HERE.

Don Martin, real-life writer, MMA coach
Rough Crowd
Published in
3 min readSep 16, 2023

--

Yes, I’m proud to have been one — to be one even now. Sometimes a fighter, bruised and tired, still trying to figure out the system.

The system is not Intuitive

After almost 250 articles, I’m here to tell you the system is not intuitive. you are rarely born knowing it.

My mom spent many years of her life hoping and trying to be a published, paid writer, exploring one writer’s market after another, and mailing off manuscripts.

But I guess I wasn’t born with the gene.

I had to start from “go.”

Prompted a little by her efforts and a little by my two high school English teachers who told me I would never amount to much, and a “well, I’ll show YOU” attitude, I set about to find a way to make a buck or two from writing. And like a gambler who lets it ride, I tried to parlay those small victories into larger ones.

Now I try to help writing newcomers. In the beginning, I was helped tremendously by a mentor who had a publication with a huge following. When he published one of my stories, It would have a lot of eyes on it.

--

--