My Creator (A Rough Writing Prompt Response)

DavidšŸ³BransonšŸ³Smith
Rough Writers
Published in
2 min readFeb 16, 2016

This is a clean snippet of a very rough draft of this story, written in Rough Draft, an app for getting your ideas out. Click the link above to see the full story in all itā€™s rough glory šŸ™ƒ

This thought-provoking and super meta story was written by dub_transmissions, one of the first beta users on our rough writing platform. The prompt below comes from redditā€™s awesome writing prompts community www.reddit.com/r/WritingPrompts.

Writing Prompt: Hello! I am the main character, but I canā€™t figure out/decide if Iā€™m a hero or a villainā€¦

Have to keep cool, calm and collected. BUt most of all, Iā€™ve just got to keep cool. Gotta keep up this facade. Itā€™s my only way out of this cycle of self doubt and mental slavery. Worse than slavery, this is torture in itā€™s purest form.

Like lulling a prisoner to sleep only to then blast music from all possible angles at his poor might-as-well-be-a-corpse-of-a-lifeless-body, my creator continually pushes me towards the edge of violence, petty-ness, hatred, jealousy and self-loathing, only to bring me back from the precipice to the warm bosom of compassion, friendliness and love towards my ā€œfamilyā€ that he or she (my creator) has conjured up for me.

And like a prisoner, I feel like just giving up and accepting what this sometimes sadistic, oftentimes compassionate, once-in-a-while sociopathic creator of mine has deigned me to become. Iā€™ll plead guilty if that what it takes! Make me the worst criminal known to man, fill me with the hatred of a thousand scorned lovers and abandoned children whoā€™ve grown to resent their absentee fathers and drug addicted mothers. Make me stomp, rampage, destroy those that others (themselves creations) have built. I accept it all!

Just show me the pathā€¦

--

--

DavidšŸ³BransonšŸ³Smith
Rough Writers

Skeptical, never cynical. System thinker. Founder. Mentor. VC. Husband. Father. Friend. Aspiring hacker, and struggling artist.