What is Roughdrft?

Akinola Falomo
roughdrft
Published in
3 min readSep 17, 2019

The Medium placeholder text says, “Tell your story” . So, I thought to myself, “What story do I have to tell? What thoughts are on my mind?” I have had many interesting, challenging, and unforgettable memories in the past few months, but those experiences didn’t just feel like a ‘story’ however I decided they were worth creating a publication.

Roughdrft (pronounced “Roughdraft”) will be a publication where I answer questions and write about the most disturbing thoughts on my mind. Thoughts about my experiences, knowledge that I have gained about life, business, meditation, and the idea of purpose.

This will not be a journal. It will be mainly theoretical as I explore several concepts mainly from topics I am currently reading or thinking about. Another reason for the publication is to practice and improve my writing. This has been a long desire of mine. To have the confidence and smooth flow of a skilled writer. Finally, I will be sharing a lot of ideas. Hopefully, my writing can help spark someone else’s curiosity to solve a problem.

July 19th 2019 — I’m on a path.

For a while now, I have tried helped to build tech businesses that will propel the African economy and usher us to some new revolution. This path has changed me as a person . I have gone from a pool of abundance to striving for survival and now, becoming a peaceful and confident person.

Every experience has come with some pain, as expected, but has left me with a clarity of purpose. I discovered more about my strengths and weaknesses. I learned to lean towards my strengths and it has started to pay off.

The first question; Who am I?

If you don’t know who you are, you’re lost. This is tricky because your ‘image’ changes with your experiences or at least, most people think your experiences affect your image. This is correct in most cases but not all. Like people who had bad experiences growing up; those experiences usually affect their image for very long.

While your experiences mold your thoughts, your identity can be a representation of your belief and not your current reality. Reality can be deceiving because it doesn’t exactly exist. Perception is reality. The effect of this is actually very simple. Your mind conditions your thoughts and behaviour to your perception, and then your actions live out that perception until it becomes your reality.

This is very important because it is how you define who you are. Your ‘reality’ or ‘experience’ should never define your image. Your self-image has to be constantly driven from your belief system and your own perception of yourself. Your belief becomes your reality, which becomes your experience and the cycle keeps going. You should hold on to this and never let go and you’ll realise that you have more control over yourself than you think.

The second question; What do I want out of life?

The method of getting what you want comes from your belief system. However, the ability to actually get what you want is totally out of your control. This doesn’t mean you can’t or shouldn’t work hard to achieve your goals, but you can work hard and still not achieve them.

There are laws to life that cause things to work out for you regardless of the work you put in. Some people call it luck but I think it is the universe’s way of responding to what you want out of life irrespective of your effort or hardwork.

So the question is, “how do you truly get what you want from life?” Then you have to understand and accept that it is out of your control. It is also not completely dependent on your efforts or how much work you put in.

It is simply finding peace and paying close attention to the moment things start to align with what you want. When they do, you’ll just know. Your next steps will look like work, but at this point, you’ll know exactly what to do. This is when you have to put in all your efforts and hardwork. That’s when the work truly matters.

You can think of this as an opportunity, which is never lost even if you screw up (but I’ll write on this separately). This is simply how the world works and how to get what you want from life.

Finding yourself and getting what you want out of life are some of the thoughts that birthed this publication.

So, welcome to Roughdrft. I hope I can help you find some inspiration.

--

--

Akinola Falomo
roughdrft

Diverse | Not Interested in popular problems. Building useful stuff one step at a time | Personal blog for memories, data, business and culture.