Pride in others

Casey Hunt
Roughly 100
Published in
1 min readApr 7, 2017

It’s difficult, early in your career, to avoid feelings of jealousy, impostor syndrome, and anxiety when faced with the successes of your contemporaries. I found myself feeling distressed and out of place when attending conferences or watching my colleagues produce artwork that I saw as truly outstanding. Meanwhile the work I was producing felt average or derivative.

It took years of success, accolades, and acknowledgement to grow comfortable in my strengths and my weaknesses. However the trait I value the most as my career has progressed is my comfort in showing pride in the work of my colleagues. Enabling others to do good work, providing critical feedback, or a helpful encouraging word all for the sake or producing better product out of someone else is incredibly rewarding.

It is in the absence of ego that I have begun to find the biggest boost in confidence.

--

--

Casey Hunt
Roughly 100

UX Designer. Front-End Developer. Gamer. Writer. Above all- nerd.