Social Anxiety

Casey Hunt
Roughly 100
Published in
1 min readApr 3, 2017

Recently I was speaking with a friend of mine, who revealed through casual conversation, that she is a sufferer of social anxiety. This was something of a shock to me since I hold her in such high regard as being funny, approachable, charming, and altogether an awesome person. Why would someone have anxiety about social interaction?

I revealed that I too felt nervous when meeting new people. Equally as surprised she asked why when in her eyes I exhibit the same qualities I see in her.

Meeting someone, or groups of someones, for the first time is a nerve-wracking ordeal. What do you say? How do you say it? Is comedy appropriate? What do they find funny?

What if we normalized the anxiety we all feel in new social situations?

To everyone that feels this familiar pang, there is nothing wrong with you. It’s just your mind telling you to listen before you speak.

Take the time, listen, take a breath, then say hello. You’ll do fine.

--

--

Casey Hunt
Roughly 100

UX Designer. Front-End Developer. Gamer. Writer. Above all- nerd.