Chill Out Wednesday #3

KIITE
Route 1 Audio

--

You again!

I am so pleased to be sharing this with you this week. Rarely does something capture the imagination like this EP from Sker does. I was alerted to Sker, 21 year old Sam from Cardiff who now resides in London, by This is Monkixx when he sent me Sker’s tune Impaktor.

However it was his Highways EP, forthcoming on City By Night Records that manages to bring #Chill / #Cinematic / #Ambient depth into his world of #bass and polishes it perfectly with intricate, natural, #futuregarage influenced percussion. I’ll talk mainly about my favourite tune from the EP, Highways, you can discover the rest for yourself. Follow the links chilldren.

As you may have worked out from my #COW #2 post last week, I have a thing for ethereal vocals. This tune combines these in abundance with some beautiful guitar to dial up the haunting to over 9000 (DBZ joke). The warmth in these two elements in particular make for sonic landscape I would walk through any day.

With crackle and click all the way through, it’s really the breakdown on 1:30 that got me goosebumping. The minimalism here, followed up by a wonderfully sexy bass really is special. I actually went to see Ludovico Einaudi in Birmingham last night and his live multi-instrument performances in the second half are very much like this, simple but deep. Powerful but not overpowering. Uplifting but thought provoking.

My kinda #chill. See you next week for #COW#4

--

--