20230524 ReStart

Roxanne Merket
Roxanne & Kate
Published in
2 min readMay 24, 2023

Advo-Kate,

Yes. 1000x yes. Let’s write. Just notes. Because magic happens in between the lines of the notes.

Let’s talk about format first… You know I’m obsessed with audio… But my neurodivergent brain sometimes needs to just read… Can we start with notes now, and maybe add audio soon?

It’s funny… I’ve been thinking a lot about this move of ours to Japan. SO much changed so quickly. I like to think that every move gives me permission to revise who I am. (I’m currently living in version Japan.2) And truly, I could use some pep-talking from my business bestie.

Because SO much changed. And it just keeps changing.

So yes, I’m on board. And do you mind if I just dive right in?

I’ve been feeling the winds of change for a while. You know this. We’ve discussed this at length. Years of feeling it… It’s become familiar. Almost too familiar, because I’ve become so accustomed to knowing change is coming, I haven’t done anything with it.

Until recently.

I’ve been in this world of online creation for so many years… And it’s exhausting to me. The hustle culture is just too much at times. I remember before I had babies how I LOVED hustle culture. It felt GOOD to me. You remember what it’s like… hustle constantly, work hard, then work harder…

Hustle culture is rooted in all the bad things… racism, white supremacy, patriarchy (to name just a few…)

And I’m tired of it.

So instead of keeping up the idea of hustle culture, I’ve stopped. I don’t try and do it all anymore. (I don’t even try to do most of it 😂.)

I’m slowing down, but I’m not focused on living and working slow. I’m more focused on living and doing business intentionally.

Does that difference even make sense?

Anyway. All this rambling just to tell you that I love this idea, and it works for where I’m at too — slowing down, fighting against hustle culture, and having real conversations about how to exist in a world that feels like its imploding.

And also, thanks for being with me as I rebuild my entire business from scratch.

Ok. Your turn, my friend… Where are you at with all the things?

In gentle rebellion against the hustle,
Roxanne

--

--

Roxanne Merket
Roxanne & Kate

Roxanne Merket is a digital marketer turned micro-business coach who helps moms recognize and care for the truest (and most forgotten) parts of themselves.