Build

Prepping for the Final Show

Karthika Sakthivel
Royal Jellies
5 min readJun 6, 2020

--

Knowing me, this is when almost everything gets done- the last minute.

To begin with, inviting people to an experience that isn’t quite ready yet? Yep that’s my jam.

Sending out invites for my experience

I got some cheap portable speakers, and decided against using the bluetooth mode owing to lag and whatnot. (Yes the wires ended up being too small, and I had to make exorbitant last minute purchases, moving on…) Splitting the channels was a great idea (Thanks, Jack!)

Splitting L and R channels

I tried and failed at repurposing metal holders to hold the speakers inside the chair. Instead I laser cut MDF and wood-glued the pieces together. I secured some strong velcro onto the speakers and the holders, so that I could charge them and remount them at my convenience. Not the sturdiest of jobs, but it seemed to do the trick.

Holders for speakers.

With respect to audio, Max Msp worked best for my requirement. I set it up so that the ‘pan’ was controlled by the values coming in from the breath sensor. The soundscape would thus lap back and forth in tune with the breath. The process was rather straightforward. (I must say the acoustics within the chair was absolutely meditative!)

I then got an aroma diffuser, to set some ocean like vibes.

With a lot of help from the wood work technicians I got around to building the final structure for my screens.

Building the Box
From the wood workshop to the paint booth

I even got the letters ‘mayajaal’ lasercut on shimmery blue acrylic, to mount on the back of the chair as part of the branding. I couldn’t wait to paste them on!

And of course, if you know me well enough, details are of utmost importance. For months, I looked for a particular (discontinued) plastic gumball machine to dispense my business cards. I had even purchased small toy capsules to enclose my cards.

Testing Size for Business Cards

After scouring and contacting several sellers on Facebook Marketplace I found someone kind enough to ship it to me all the way from Ireland.

However, as dreaded, my capsules were a tad bit too big for the dispenser. I sat there, with not much time left but unwilling to compromise on this ‘cute’ idea. (Wow, priorities) I had to think of something. With the help of Sophie Perkins, I disassembled it, scraped and sanded the plastic, et voila!

Sanding the Gumball Machine
Business Card Dispensor

And my philosophy is — always be prepared for the worst but be cute about it. So I printed this sign just in case ;-)

Technical Troubles

(Things you don’t need to know: there’s always time for shopping, even when your fingers are covered in paint ;-))

It was time to pack and move all the equipment.

Transporting the heavy items in a van to Kensington

Once on location, I was worried that having my chair face a corner in a dark room would look more like a punishment than a meditative experience. But things turned in my favour. I’m quite lucky in the sense that I always find a snug little corner for my exhibits. I was able to hide my wires and laptop behind my black box, thanks to the little alcove that suddently became available. And I was small enough to squeeze in and out to fix things when they stopped working. My projection nightlight filled the space with moving blue light.

We continued to working all the way until the last minute. Just a few tiny touches here and there and we should be all set for the show!

--

--

Karthika Sakthivel
Royal Jellies

Exploring the act of storytelling in a multimodal manner is at present the core of my investigation.