BBM Digital
Royal Qulture
Published in
4 min readApr 18, 2022

--

This year I made it a goal of mine to attend several conferences and expos after missing out the last few years due to covid 19. I have been searching for the best opportunity to meet some great people in the tech space not only as a UX designer myself but as a business owner that is looking to expand my digital team. Afro Tech has been on my radar for a few years now and I felt the Virtual edition would suit my schedule as well as get my yearly goal off to a great start.

If you don’t know what Afro Tech is, it is a collective of black, brown, and minority industry professionals looking for the most effective way to carve out their own spaces. Afro Tech attracts people in College still and those in the industry looking to advance or even break into larger more profitable spaces. This is why I felt it was necessary for me to attend. I am not necessarily looking for job opportunities but my main goal is to find a like-minded community with the skills needed to make a larger dent in the full spectrum of tech.

Tech has become a staple in society globally, according to experts we can expect more than 6 million new jobs in Tech by 2030. This astounding number proves that there is a growing need for more people of color to capitalize on the vast opportunities arising.

Not only are their jobs available in the space, but there is also room for black founders like myself to find quality talent in order to make their companies competitive in the space. As of now, major companies and well-funded startups are hoarding black talent separating us making it more difficult to develop long-lasting companies that aim directly to fill the wage and wealth gaps that minorities, in particular, black men and women face. Afro Tech is just as important to change that dynamic as anyone and I was proud to sit in the room and hear successful black men and women talk passionately about tech and how they can use their platforms to alter the current dynamics. Even with Afro Tech become a staple in the community, the truth of the matter is according to the 2014 Diversity in High Tech Report from the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), the percentage of Black employees in high-tech industries is 7.4%, yet about 13% of the U.S. population is Black.

What did I learn?

The event was 2 days and packed with great speakers and panels that dove into the intricate natures of the Tech industry. The panelist varied from educators to business owners all providing some sense of value that I definitely appreciated. I thought all of the guests did well and I found them all on Linked In and their social media platforms because I felt they could help me in my journey to develop my tech company. One that stood out to me was the Gaming & Genesis of the Metaverse panel hosted by Mary Spio.

They talked about accessibility within these spaces and how those in positions can facilitate growth and diversity within their roles. I honestly connected with this because as a designer, one who has taught myself a bulk of the information needed to succeed has been pigeon-toed and forced to create my own company in order to impact the people who deserve it from our community. This is a topic we need to continue adding to and finding ways to create seamless pathways for the next generation. Without corporations to hire and employ our most creative we will forever fall to the bottom of the barrel in pay and accessibility.

Fundraising Strategies for Black Women Founders

This lecture spoke with some powerful women in the Tech space who were spreading some great energy and insight. Candace Morgan and Monique Idlett CEO of Rain Ventures were one of the more insightful and thoughtful guests. Her energy was great and she spoke on the importance of fundraising and knowing who to connect with when searching for funds for your startups and design projects.

Jeff Staple of Staple Pigeon Streetwear was another great ambassador for diversity in the tech space ended the event by speaking on how the metaverse will impact the future. He reminded us that story matters and the more you can communicate your story and brand to your audience the more people you reach and impact. As Afro Tech Continues to grow, I believe growing these connections within this space will be what changes the diversity dynamic within the industry. The more we see our value in power positions the more we will expand our visions.

As a black founder, these words meant the most to me, because so many times we find ourselves telling stories that don’t grow our business. We have to connect with our audience with our approach to marketing.

If you would love to build in the digital space connect with me via our website www.bbmpub.business

--

--

BBM Digital
Royal Qulture

BBM Digital is dedicated to growing the minds of our community in particular to the growing financial tech, digital marketing, cannabis, and digital currency.