Why would you sit down for hours to read a book these days?

Roy Honders
royhonders
Published in
2 min readJul 30, 2019

--

The summer holiday has started a few weeks ago, well for me at least. Usually this means that I have some more time to work on my own projects and to explore technologies that I found interesting, but didn’t have time to look at before.
It also means that I have more time to read books. This is usually something I do during the Christmas holidays and then after being busy, I pick it up in the summer holiday again.

Photo by Dan Dumitriu on Unsplash

This summer is different. I have just graduated college and I am working hard on the startup that I co-founded three years ago. Since that hasn’t generated too much traction yet, I am also looking for a job for when the summer is over. In between all these activities there is not much time left. This leaves the following question for me:

Why would I spend my time reading complete books?

I could also spend my time reading summaries of all the books that I still have listed to read, but this doesn’t make sense for me for some reason. Because the take-aways from the summary will be really subjective to the writer of that summary. Usually a book has a lot of examples and you cannot trust someone else to find the bits and pieces that will stick out to you.

So always read whole books for yourself and instead skip parts that do not interest you. You might be surprised what the serendipity could bring you! Let me know your take-aways of the next book that you will be reading.

If you like my blog posts, make sure to follow my publication and find me on my social media channels!

--

--

Roy Honders
royhonders

Working as a frontend developer at Quintor. Currently writing short stories about tech.