Photo by Robin Benzrihem on Unsplash

Prayer #3

A little prayer

Hrodwulf Gelewski
Published in
2 min readDec 16, 2018

--

Lords of beyond, hear my words and heed them true

I ask a lot I know, but what am I if not a mere beggar

So much desire dives my soul in dubious paths

Doubt chains my body to the place it now stands

I move aimlessly back and forth, alive yet not living

The small pleasures attach me to a life of more

I seek again and again the foul, the lesser, the petty

I repeat sins I’d already overcame

they come back to haunt me

The words of salvation I hear give me minute light

A heart overwhelmed in joy, eyes watching the true way

I think I am finally bound to my Nirvana

Rain washes my road away, cold cools my heart

As quick and certain of victory, I am back to my daily struggle

Lamentations fill my thoughts

I was so right, yet I’m not. Not any longer.

Truth feels like an illusion

Like I’ve been wandering inside a maze

The blink of happiness when I see a new path

Soon becomes the same old place I’m still trapped

The sun above gives me hope but only this

It offers no help, no clue. I’m none the wiser by its light

So I beg, my body filthy with this foliage

My feet shoeless and full of dirt from the road

I beg, lords of beyond, break in this maze a hole

Or guide my path out of this endless pain

Take me out, let me feel the breeze again

Let me stare at the horizon and see the sunset

How long can I hold myself together here?

Will you not oblige me with your grace?

--

--

Hrodwulf Gelewski

You are led to the truth you are ready. Writer and RPG lover. Sometimes I wander in nutrition, personal development, financial education or philosophy.