Why I homebrew

Aron Christensen
RPGuide
Published in
2 min readMar 6, 2024

I’ve always been a homebrew guy. I usually create my own stories and NPCs. Even when I play in an established setting or IP, I just can’t help but homebrew stuff. If I have fifteen minutes and nothing else to do, I start creating something. If you’re reading this, then it’s a safe bet that you’re a gamer, and that you do something similar.

Why is it so much fun? Well, when we can’t role-play, we can think about it, right?

Image: An alchemist’s workroom filled with books and glowing potions, with schematics on the wall for… something.

Sometimes, I’m just bored. I’ll create a character I know full well that I’ll never actually play. I’ll even come up with ideas for campaigns that I’ll probably never run. But it’s a taste of role-playing. I can get RPG-adjacent.

Sometimes I’m just struck by inspiration. I lay down in bed at night and then think of a character or a piece of equipment. I lull myself to sleep imagining stories and villains.

Sometimes it’s not just for fun, though. My group or game might have a hole in it. A group without healing might need some way to stay on their feet without someone being forced to take a level in cleric that they don’t really want. So maybe they need a healer NPC, a medic droid or an alchemy kit that can synthesize drugs or healing potions? Or maybe a character is falling behind the curve against enemies and I want to let them find some gear or make a feat that’ll close the gap.

Sometimes it’s about world-building. A blade owned by the most famous outlaw in the last millennium. Sure, there’ll be some bonuses and tricks to the item, but half the text might be some history about this legendary scoundrel and their name might be the command word to activate its rogue-y ultimate power. Now I’ve created a piece of history, a facet of the world new to my players that rounds out the setting that their characters live in, and make it all a little bit more real.

Homebrew is always harder than out-of-the-box RP, but it can be a lot of fun, add a lot to your game. And, if nothing else, it’s a great way to kill some time when you’re bored and missing game.

Did you like this article? Did you like it enough to throw a few bucks our way? Then tip the authors!

--

--