What Makes RS21 A Fast Company Best Workplace for Innovators?

Employees Share Why They Choose to Be Part of RS21

RS21
RS21 Blog
Published in
6 min readJul 30, 2020

--

Fast Company announced its 2020 Best Workplaces for Innovators list, honoring businesses and organizations that encourage innovation at all levels. We’re ecstatic to be recognized in the Top 50 companies (at number 43) for an award that recognizes RS21’s commitment to giving employees the freedom to explore creative ideas that benefit our clients and communities.

Fast Company, in collaboration with Accenture, scored nearly 900 applications from businesses from around the world, and a panel of eight eminent judges reviewed and endorsed the top 100 workplaces for innovators.

Read statements from the folks at RS21 to hear why they think we made the list.

CHARLES RATH, President + CEO
On Helping People Find What Makes Them Tick…

I am just in love with what I do. We are a passion-driven organization, and every day is finding a better way to help people understand the problems they’re trying to solve, make the best use of their data, and explore it through inspiring, intuitive dashboards and visualizations.

I am living the dream, and I’m in a position to help others find what makes them tick. Our people know — or get to know — what they care about, how to apply it within the organization, unlock the door to success, and most importantly, live their best professional lives. That type of passion and self-awareness is what allows us to drive forward our mission to leave the world a better place than we found it.

DAVID DOOLING, Senior Data Scientist
On New Mexico Coffee and Data Science…

New Mexico caffeine is very good fuel for turning thoughts into chess victories. It’s also great for inspiring scientific research and analysis. The story of data is threaded throughout time (we can trace the solution to cubic equations back to the 1500s in Italy) and continues today on an exciting, brand new path. The analytical value of the deluge of data we have today helps us give unbelievable value to customers and brings great satisfaction to everyone involved in the field of data science.

GINO VILLALPANDO, Development Intern
On Being Part of Technological Advancements…

I’m inspired every day by technological advances that create better opportunities for humankind. I strive to be part of the conversation of building new exciting technology and solving complex issues.

JAMES ARNOLD, Computational Scientist
On Pushing the Limits…

I love working at RS21 because there is never a shortage of exciting challenges and projects to work on and an amazing team to tackle them with. Most projects sit at this crazy intersection of scientific research and client-facing software that requires us to push the limits of existing tools to create compelling products that make complex subject matter accessible.

JEFF MAHOLTZ, Technical Recruiter
On RS21 Living its Values…

I have worked in other organizations where the values seem a bit stale. But at RS21, I love that our values-based company has well-thought-out and meaningful values. I can assure you that the values that are on the walls are practiced in the halls.

When I am sourcing top technical talent for the organization, I recognize that I am often the first interaction these individuals have with RS21. I love diving deep into our work and demonstrating how it aligns with our values. We produce some of the most beautiful and elegant systems I have seen and that gets people excited.

MATT MAKOFSKE, Senior Healthcare Analyst
On Using Data in a Better Way…

So many conversations involving data end with someone saying, “We need to collect more data.” Sometimes you do, but more often it would be better to ask, “How can we look at our data differently or better?” Like, instead of just looking at a table of patient data for insights, what about combining it with public Census data, throwing it on a map, then exploring?

Within minutes you’ll start seeing new patterns and getting new insights that can inform important topics like health equity that you wouldn’t have gotten from that table alone.

I love that my job is helping clients do this daily and that I get to do it with a bunch of nerds like me who bring a range of perspectives in everything from design to programming to systems engineering to learning sciences and so many topics in-between.

MEGAN CRONIN, Director of Marketing
On the RS21 brand and professional fulfillment…

I am continually inspired by our small but mighty marketing team, and the colorful, vibrant brand we’ve helped create. A brand that is truly reflective of RS21’s culture, values, and people. I love working for a company that gives me full creative license, freedom to take risks, and the opportunity to collaborate with a diverse and talented group of colleagues. Working for RS21 has been an incredibly rewarding experience.

MISSI ROGERS, Chief Operating Officer
On Awesome Colleagues…

I love my coworkers because I am surrounded by incredibly smart individuals who are amazingly humble and immensely kind. I am very lucky and honored to be at RS21.

NATALIE SOMMER, Communications Manager
On the Creative Buzz and Opportunity…

RS21 has a hip, techie vibe and a creative buzz nourished by Cheez-Its, music, white boards, and a pack of loyal, excitable fur-iends. We celebrate our successes, while having honest conversations about how to do better. And personally, I’ve never had so much opportunity to create, experiment, share my views, and learn with the support of my director and colleagues.

HIPPO, Chief Dog Officer
On Choosing RS21 for Naps, Treats, Pets, and Play…

I came for the bones, peanut butter treats, and snoring on the sofa. But then I realized how much the hoomans need me. They rub my big head and tell me I’m a “good boy”. Now I’m always up for a day in the office — there’s always something exciting going on, and I love helping my hoomans enjoy their days too.

RS21 is a values-based data science and visualization company with a commitment to Do Good With Data. We are proud of the culture and work we’ve created thanks to the dreamers, the disruptors, and the doers who aren’t afraid to be real and tackle humanity’s biggest challenges.

We have offices in Albuquerque, NM and Washington, D.C. as well as remote work options. To learn more about RS21, visit our website and follow us on LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

--

--

RS21
RS21 Blog

RS21 is revolutionizing decision-making with data + AI. We believe the power of data can unleash human potential and make a better world. Visit www.rs21.io.