BuzzFeed: The Target of Social Media

Jessie‘s Edit
RTA902 (Social Media)
9 min readApr 7, 2017

--

While I spend a lot of my time watching BuzzFeed videos and getting distracted on assignments taking “which ‘Gilmore Girls’ guy is your soulmate?” quizzes (I got Kirk …), I didn’t actually know exactly what BuzzFeed was. So breaking all academic codes, I consulted Wikipedia, which informed me that BuzzFeed was a “social news and entertainment company” with a focus on digital media and digital technology in order to provide ‘the most shareable breaking news, original reporting, entertainment, and video’. So basically, BuzzFeed is everything and exists pretty much everywhere (online, at least). BuzzFeed currently runs over eight YouTube channels with over 30 million subscribers collectively, features daily articles and quizzes on their website Buzzfeed.com and runs over 15 Instagram accounts in addition to multiple Facebook pages, Twitter accounts and managing their growing presence on Snapchat.

THE TARGET STRATEGY

BuzzFeed has everything you could ever think of and more, they’re everywhere and you never just walk out with the thing you came for. One minute I’m watching couples swapping jobs for a day, the next I’m watching two guys eat a $100 gold-coated doughnut. They are the Target of social media.

I took finding a mind map that showed all the different facets of BuzzFeed just to get my head around the company and all of its…

--

--