Dear Luca

Luca Fogolini
RTA902 (Social Media)
2 min readApr 14, 2017

The first social media network I integrated myself into was Facebook, I was in grade eight and all my friends had it. I wanted to be like everyone else so I joined the bandwagon and made my first Facebook account. I hid it from my family because I was too embarrassed to put myself out there and I thought I was too young but I just wanted to be included. If I were to write my younger self this is what I would say.

Dear pre-teen luca

Social media is not ready for you and you are not ready for social media yet not in grade eight not while you are still learning about who you are as a person and what makes you different. The amount of likes does not mean that you are better than anyone else, it actually means nothing at all it is just an illusion to comfort us and make us feel better about ourselves. But before you get social media make sure that you are already happy with whom you are and the main thing that makes you happy is yourself. Go outside live life and experience the real world and not this unforgiving virtual world, develop your opinions and ideas from reading books and interacting with others face to face rather than a computer screen. I promise you younger luca that your life will be so much better without social media and stay away from what they are feeding you because you will soon realize in the future that it is all just a gimmick.

NOT EVERYTHING HAS TO BE POSTED ONLINE. This is very important because what you post comes back to bite you in the future and it hurts you negatively. Also live in the moment and stop trying to capture the moment every time you can because the only thing you would be able to remember from the moment is trying to capture the perfect selfie which is a very cringe worthy memory like why would anyone want to have that as a memory.

Also in the future this crazy online dating app will come into existence and it will be really bad because you will accidentally swipe right on a person that you know and everything after that ends up being very awkward and oh yea the person you swiped right on is not the nicest.

But social media also does some good for you, that is where you meet the greatest online persona sammyshmurda24 on twitter and he ends up being the coolest guy you ever met, in everyway and he introduces you to a bunch of memes (probably the most amazing thing about social media) and he helps you create very interesting videos. Also social media heightens your humor using pictures and videos that will forever give you laughs in the future.

This message is very important for you to read because it is a warning that will help you in your daily life as you go through many stages in life.

--

--