Enjoy the food and view first!!!

Ying Gao
RTA902 (Social Media)
3 min readApr 5, 2018

If I can write a letter to the young version of me, the title must be the most remarkable sentence I want to say. To be honest, when I had my first social media account, I hardly post my selfie because I think I was not good at doing making up stuff and the photos of me would be very different from my other friends. If the letter is sent to that age of me, I will say in the very opposite way. “Just do everything you want to do, if you like to have makeup, then you should learn it; if you do not want to do it, just ignore others’ comments.

I liked to take photos when I go travelling or taste some food that I’ve never eaten before. I gave myself an invisible plan that frequently posts about the food and the place I went to so that I can still let others know My life is busy and happy. However, suddenly I realized that the time for taking photos make me lose fun and joy of my journey and having the meals. Finally, the worse time was I think about how to take beautiful pictures instead of enjoying the experience. I used too much time on editing photos on my phone while I was eating or viewing. Now I started to have foodie Blog and vlog channel, and I know if the stuff really attracts you, you will be in there again. Therefore, if the letter is sent to 18 years old version of me, which is like 2 years ago, I will say stop editing the same photo for different apps in your phone, they are just pictures. Take your time to enjoy the food and sightseeing for now.

I can be proud to say that I was not that kids who can not leave their social media even have meals with family at home because my Mum does not allow any electronic devices appear on the dining table. I felt a little bit distressed if the time of having meal interrupted the chatting time with my friends. I could not take my phone to the table, so I had to leaves the messages and have meals firstly. My mum lets me know giving up to catch all the latest message will not have any problems.

I know even I can advise the young age of me, she would not listen to all of them because people always like to try the things they have not done before. However, at least, now 22 years-old of me can understand that.

--

--