From ask.fm to Instagram- How I Reclaimed My Mental Health On Social Media

Emma Middlestadt
RTA902 (Social Media)
1 min readMar 24, 2017

Continuing last week’s conversation on how vanity metrics can positively or negatively influence your mental health, this week He Said, She Said dove further into the topic of how social media can affect your mental state.

On this podcast, we each get quite personal about our own feelings about bullying, confidence, anxiety, and positivity on social media, and how our experiences have changed over the years.

I personally discuss my struggles with bullies in high school both online and in person, and how online platforms like ask.fm took a serious toll on my mental health. That being said, I also explain how I managed to turn those negative experiences around to make social media a vital tool in my life for both productivity and positivity. So, if any of that intrigues you, take a listen!

Thanks again to my friends and panel members Dryden Koski, Asia Aoki, and Paolo Furgiuele, and I apologize for how heated things got around the middle. Thank goodness for the glass wall that separated the ladies from the men this week.

Listen to this week’s episode here:

https://soundcloud.com/user-555846347/podcast-vii-social-media-online-bullying-and-self-care-online

Cheers,
Emma
XOXO

--

--