Courtesy: Gemma Correll

Self-Care Online: Tried and True Tips

Emma Lauermeier
RTA902 (Social Media)

--

Self-care online can be tricky. I love the internet, and all the great and wonderful things it can bring me, but it can also be a harmful, stressful, draining space. As I use the internet almost constantly, and definitely daily, it is important to know the places, sites, and communities online that I know are the most supportive and kind. I also need the places where I can just scroll, and know I won’t feel hurt or pain or anger. I like the calm spaces of the internet the best, where I can take in content, but still hear my own thoughts. It’s when the negative noise is louder than my thoughts that I start to feel anxious or upset. That’s why I decided to present my tips on how I practice self-care online:

1. Find Your Happy Sites

A Happy site is like the online equivalent of your happy place. It’s a place where you can go that you know that there is a minimal chance of negativity entering your feeds. For me, those sites are Tumblr and Pinterest. On these sites I have carefully curated who I follow, and thus see posts that make me feel calm and happy. On Tumblr, I feed my love of Taylor Swift and my favourite tv shows, seeing gifs and edits. On Pinterest, it’s a mishmash of home décor, photos of the sunshine and waves, and inspirational quotes. These websites don’t make me feel comparative or competitive against other users — even Pinterest which could lead to that feeling. But because I follow things that make me happy, it puts me in the best mindset. Especially scrolling Pinterest, I get this sense of calm.

2. Unfollow Negativity

This goes hand-in-hand with Find Your Happy Sites. If you follow people who make you angry, upset, or make you feel bad, unfollow them. If you must still follow them, due to friendship or other reasons, scroll REALLY FAST past their posts. Don’t read it. Don’t let their negative words into your mind. Sure, there are things we should read that are important and may be upsetting, like world news. But, when you need a space to breathe and relax, that’s the time to push those people out who bring you down.

3. Join a Supportive Community

On Facebook, I’m in a group called Girl Circle where girls talk about issues, ideas, and just cool stuff. It’s a supportive community where I feel welcomed and encouraged to share and discuss. If I’m feeling down, it’s good to know there’s a place online where other girls will get it.

4. 8tracks Playlists

Music is one of my favourite forms of self-care. 8tracks is my favourite website to go to when I need a calm and cozy playlist. Just search by tags, and you can find a playlist that will transport you to calm. I also love the playlists that feature rain added to songs, super relaxing.

5. Know When to Log Off

The best self care tip for being online is to know when to go offline. As much as the internet can be a great and fun place, it can get too much. Sometimes the best form of self-care is to turn off your devices and come back to life offline. Taking a break from the online hustle and bustle can help to calm your mind and focus on other self-care activities, like reading or drawing or anything without a device. It is helpful to connect with who you are offline, to in turn be a more authentic you online.

--

--