Update alert: not everything is perfect

Julia Pugna
RTA902 (Social Media)
2 min readMar 24, 2017

As 2017 progress we continue to live in a world that strives to craft the perfect life on social media. I don’t want to discount any achievements worth feeling proud of but I do want to talk about the idea of FOMO (fear of missing out) and the belief that out there someone is better than you. I will be honest and say that after scrolling through Facebook, Instagram and watching everyone Snapchat stories I always have the same thought at the back of my head…wow they’ve done so much with their day, while I feel like I haven’t done anything.

Like most I like to use these platforms as a way to relax and disconnect from my university life. The life in which time management has become your best friend. From assignments, essays, tests and group projects which are all carefully planned three weeks in advance but rarely end up going according to plan. Breaks and procrastination periods are usually factored in to help somewhat balance out the stress of an assignment being worth 40% of your grade. That’s where social media comes into play, the various platforms allow for a distraction from the world of assignments to one of friendship. Thought sadly what seems like a distraction is aiding in the mental health challenges university students face today. In my opinion, anxiety is the biggest mental health challenge plaguing university students today. From my own personal experience, I can say that dealing with anxiety and the pressures of university have been difficult but manageable. For about 10 years now I have suffered from extreme anxiety and panic attacks, though with certain strategy’s and treatments I have been able to face whatever challenge school has imposed on me.

I believe that social media contributes to anxiety in university students as it’s usually a means to relax but subsequently acts as another factor in harming a student’s self esteem and happiness. It has been mentioned that those who post on social media only post the positive highlights of their lives, and keep the negative moments to themselves. Rationally that makes sense, but when you are scrolling through these sites its easy to forget that everyone has their hardships in life. With constant updates and instant gratification in full effect, I think social media has contributed to the anxiety university students face today as they feel they need to excel in their studies as well as their social lives.

The idea that everyone is perfect all the time and is having the time of their lives really does have an impact on a generation that has immediate access to everyone’s information. Mental health challenges are a real concern that can be stopped with the help of social media not hindered by it. I hope that our ability to instantly connect to millions around the world help students fight against anxiety and brings everyone closer together rather than isolate people further. This is a habit I wish to curb and hope that in the future there will be help for others.

--

--