Content Is King. This is How Far Bintang Went for Them.

Tasha Wibawa
Ruangguru
Published in
5 min readJan 14, 2020
Bintang, Ruangguru’s Content Marketing Associate

Ruangguru is minutes away from shooting their special shows for another television bonanza: Ruangguru Spekta Semester 2 and Semarak Keluarga Ruangguru. It was a spectacle of famous, influential entertainers, and the merging of star power is happening on and off the stage.

If you’re Ruangguru’s social media content creator, what do you do? You create content with all the famous figures and have them promote the show too, of course! This was not an easy feat, according to Bintang, our content marketing associate, who was literally running through throngs of people for — you guessed it — content.

Bintang had a lot on his plate: creating the concept, chasing guest stars day-and-night, and finalizing the content for social media. In this interview, peel off the layers of Bintang’s amazing race, competing with time and generating as many contents as possible, and read his experience doing so with Ruangguru. Follow along!

Q: We heard you ran all over the place and created content with influencers and famous entertainers. What was that like?

A: Yes. On the day of the shoot, I had to be ready at the location by 8 am. Before the day of the shoot, I had contacted all the different Liaison Officers (LO) for each influencer, performer, and other famous guest stars and tried to find time in their schedule to shoot a 15-second video about the TV show we were shooting.

I had to run around all day, meeting all the different people at different locations. They each have their own sets of schedule and only a bit of time to spare, so I had to be the one following their schedule, even if that meant staying late in the evening. The result? We ran — literally running — around to different locations that sometimes were very far from each other so we can save time.

Bintang and his team interviewing former Ruangguru users who are now studying in their university of choice

Q: What were the challenges then? Why did you bother?

A: Days before the shoot, I had to prepare a concept. That in itself is a challenge. Another challenge that I encountered was that I had to give briefings about my concept over and over again, to the influencers and others. At first, I was really nervous and I did not express myself clearly because of that. I learned that I needed to simplify my briefings because they had so much to do and think about already. I also had to accommodate their different needs because I want to ensure that the process went smoothly. Overall, because I had lots of planning and conceptualization beforehand, I felt a sense of responsibility to execute this project well.

The view during a shooting break

Q: What was special about the experience for you?

A: The fact that I get to create social media content with influencers and celebrities was very special to me. You don’t get to do that every day! On top of that, I feel very grateful that I was able to create a concept and actually implement it, especially being able to explain it to public figures who were probably extremely preoccupied.

Q: How did the followers receive it? Did it do well?

A: Honestly, I didn’t expect that many people would like the content. When we posted these videos, thousands of people liked it. Not mentioning that we got a major increase in our following. I think it’s because we posted interesting content to promote our TV event, and our followers got to see their favorite stars.

Q: What content do you usually put out?

A: On top of creating content in our social media platforms such as Roguinsight, Rogutips, PojokPTN, Meme, Squadfacts, Sinemantap, and more. I also create other content for Ruangguru’s podcast called Obrolan Pulang Sekolah where I co-host with my colleague Ziljian and talk about various topics catered towards our users. It’s on Spotify and Ruangguru’s Youtube channel if you are interested!

Last year, I was also given the opportunity to travel to Malang and learn about the amazing stories of some of our users for a series of content we call Cerita Juara. There was even a point where I had to speak Javanese to ask Rani, the Ruangguru user we met, who passed her entrance exam for the State University of Malang, about her experiences studying with Ruangguru.

Q: What keeps you inspired and motivated in the job?

A: It’s impossible to have the “perfect” job at all times, so I always make the effort to enjoy what I am doing. By enjoying what you are doing on a daily basis at the office, it automatically keeps you inspired and motivated to do your job. At the same time, I feel very lucky and fortunate to have such a lovely and supportive team. Whenever I have an idea that I am not 100% sure of, my team will always give me insights and help further improve the idea. In my opinion, having a supportive team further motivates me to do my best because whenever I am feeling uninspired, I will always have a helping hand.

A student interviewed by Bintang

Q: Do you have any tips for other social media content creators?

A: Stay creative and up to date! I think it’s very important to keep up with the trends of social media and stay in the loop with what everyone is talking about. Obviously this is different based on what industry you are in. Finding followers and increasing your engagement is a long process, so just because you don’t have a lot right now doesn’t mean that it is an excuse for you to stop creating content. So, create as much content as you can but also think of the value of each content. Of course, you would want your viewers to get something out of it too, right?

This concludes our short interview with Bintang. We hope in learning more about Bintang’s role and experience in one of Ruangguru’s many TV shooting events, you found inspiration and insights.

Check out the numerous content Bintang and team churn out on Ruangguru’s Instagram and Twitter accounts. If you’re a big fan of what Bintang does and would like to join his team with other enthusiastic content creators, click here!

Now, don’t forget: tune in to your TV and watch Semarak Keluarga Ruangguru today at 7:30 pm. Celebrate the beginning of the second semester with us!

--

--