The Journey of How Young Talents Grow through the LEAP Program

Ruangguru
Ruangguru
Published in
5 min readOct 19, 2021

“What is the recipe for a meaningful internship experience?”

For months, we pondered this question. As a company with a core mission of advancing education and self-development, we wanted an internship program that would also reflect this purpose. And so, our new internship program, LEAP was born. LEAP or Learning Acceleration Program is designed so that young talents can grow, progress, and thrive through real-world projects that would benefit them in the long run. For three months, participants would receive continuous mentorship and learning sessions with seasoned experts at Ruangguru to ensure a meaningful and supportive learning environment. This is the goal that we have in mind, but have we succeeded? Don’t take it from us, let’s hear the story from some of our LEAP Batch 1 participants!

Nasya Putri Awalia, Content Marketing Intern

Hello, I’m Nasya, a final year student at Universitas Padjadjaran. During the first batch of the LEAP program (June-September 2021), I joined Ruangguru as a Content Marketing Intern. My daily tasks include handling Ruangguru’s Instagram account, performing quality control on all its contents, and preparing a social media report. But more than that, I had the opportunity to take part in big projects and was able to make a real impact on the company, such as the Ruangguru Science Competition 2021 and the launching of our new brand ambassadors. In fact, one of the most fun experiences I’ve had during the internship was shooting with our celebrity brand ambassadors, Amanda Manopo and Angga Yunanda.

Oh, and one other thing, I love how the teams in Ruangguru are super fun and welcoming! My mentors are incredibly supportive, I can ask them anything I’m curious about and they will answer me with a detailed explanation. Even when I faced some challenges in stakeholder management — where I have to communicate across levels and across departments — everyone showed their support and guided me to overcome these challenges. It was so exciting to be awarded “The Most CHIEF Intern” upon my graduation from the program.

I’ve always wanted to build my career here at Ruangguru, and the LEAP program helped me to achieve just that! LEAP is the only program where I felt a truly meaningful internship experience with a measurable impact. This experience really adds to our value before officially joining the workforce. Thankfully, after the LEAP program ended, I was offered a spot as a full-time employee here.

Muhammad Rafi Assagaf, Government Relations Intern

Call me Rafi, I’m a student from Universitas Muhammadiyah Yogyakarta. Honestly, I’ve been interested in Ruangguru for a while due to its background in education. The company’s mission of putting social impact over business really resonated with me. I feel that I could really make a difference and help a lot of people by joining Ruangguru. I didn’t even apply to other internship programs because I have set my sights on LEAP and Ruangguru in particular.

If I had to sum up my LEAP experience in two words, it would be: beyond expectations. At first, I thought it was going to be one of those internship programs where interns are only trusted with administrative tasks, and I’m so glad that I was wrong! My team put me in charge of real, ongoing projects in Government Relations. I was actively involved in all of the Government Relations projects, from beginning to end. By the end of the program, I had liaised with 51 regions throughout Indonesia to organize workshops and training programs for Ruangkelas. My most memorable experience was launching a Ruangkelas workshop in my own hometown, Pontianak. This workshop was the first of its kind that the town had ever seen and was attended by over one thousand participants. I felt immense joy and pride to have brought this impactful project to my community.

The learning experiences that I received in those three months are invaluable to me in starting my career journey. I really felt the benefit of all the projects and knowledge I have gained when transitioning to a full-time job, from negotiation skills, effective communication, how to adapt quickly, and many others. I could only get all of these growth opportunities from LEAP, and I wouldn’t improve this much without it.

Graciella Liander, Product Intern

Hi, I’m Grace, a fifth-semester student at Institut Teknologi Bandung. Before joining LEAP, I already had two internships under my belt as a front-end developer in other companies. This sparked my interest in product management and the right chance came along when LEAP opened registration for its first batch. Back then, I was offered several internship opportunities in various companies but ultimately decided on Ruangguru’s LEAP as it would give me the biggest learning curve with a strong mentoring framework.

I joined LEAP with the belief that it would fulfill my curiosity about product management and be a good stepping stone to establish my career. As it turns out, the overall internship experience exceeded my expectations. I’ve been directly exposed to end-to-end product management and it was enlightening to learn that developing products at a startup requires rigorous and multi-layered stages. I was taught how to conduct competitor benchmarking and deliver comprehensive research results as well as analyzing user reviews. My mentors instilled in me the mindset that product development must first prioritize users’ needs and concerns, it cannot be done solely from the perspective of the business or product owners.

When people ask me what I enjoyed most about my LEAP experience, I can’t even decide on just one thing. I love everything — from the diverse variety of projects to the warm and welcoming nature of all my colleagues. I’m usually hesitant to reach out to important figures in the company, but I was so relieved to find out that Ruangguru key stakeholders are highly cooperative and helpful. The opportunity to continuously learn new aspects of product management is a major plus point for me, so much so that I’ve decided to extend my internship period to participate in LEAP’s currently ongoing second batch.

LEAP Batch 1 Virtual Graduation

LEAP by Ruangguru allows these young talents to explore Ruangguru’s work environment, gain valuable insights, and discover their potentials. Want to learn more about the culture and opportunities available at Ruangguru? Be sure to follow our Instagram page and check out our career website!

--

--