5 Major Things Students Expect From Their Teachers

Varun Thakur
RUBEX Blog
Published in
3 min readApr 3, 2020

Teachers expect students to be responsible and curious and also want them to follow rules and do their homework regularly. But do teachers know what students want from them?

The key role of teachers is to make students focus in class. A good lesson is a result of active participation between both teacher and student. A teacher should commit to what he/she is saying, and a student should listen to each sentence and interpret it to learn.

But, students want more from teachers than just lesson delivery. Here are five things that students expect from teachers.

1. Relationships

Am I just a face in a crowd of classrooms, a test score, or do my mentors know about me and my interests and talents? Do they help me form relationships with adults and peers who might serve as models mentors and coaches?

Students wish to form a cordial relationship with their teachers. They feel thrilled when their teachers acknowledge them as individuals rather than merely part of a class.

2. Relevance

Do my teachers help me comprehend how my learning contributes to my community and the world?

As a teacher, one needs to help students relate their education with their real life. Unless you teach students about how to apply their education, the purpose of their learning is lost.

3. Time

Am I expected to learn at a steady pace determined by the teacher, or can I learn at my own pace? Is there time for my learning to be deep as well as broad?

Students’ brains require deliberate control of the information put in because if they are not aware of what they are learning, or do not fully understand what they are learning, then knowledge becomes vague. Their awareness is more subconscious than conscious.

4. Timing

Do all students have to learn things in the same sequence, or can I learn things in the order that suits my learning style or interest?

A teacher shouldn’t proceed sequentially with the chapters rather should start with the most interesting ones at first to engage all students.

5. Practice

Do we learn something and move on immediately to the next skill, or can we engage in the deep and sustained practice of those skills we want to learn?

Teachers should make students learn all the skills and let them specialize in the one they want.

I’d like to propose that schools evaluate themselves not just by their students’ test scores but also by students’ judgments about how well the schools deliver on these imperatives.

Published on behalf of RUBEX, an ed-tech initiative that offers live classes on-demand. You can take our subjective tests to check your preparation level, clear doubts live with our subject matter experts or even request for a counseling session. Visit www.rubex.in.

--

--