Implement new feature with me:

Alexey Lipnyagov
Ruby on Rails
Published in
2 min readJul 15, 2015

--

interactive TDD tour

Hi!

In our development team we constantly share our code crafting experience and learn about others’ workflows.

I’ve demonstrated my favorite way of new feature development to our newcomers and my ruby friends several times, so I’ve decided to record it somehow.

At first I wanted to create a video episode but then I’ve tried to experiment a little. As a result, I’ve created some kind of “interactive tour” in which I guide you through the development of one small feature in the sample project, step by step. It is entirely made using Github.

That’s how it works:

  • every TDD step is a small commit
  • each commit has a comment that contains a link to the next commit (next step)
  • comment also contains a screenshot with the result of the rspec command

It was fun to create it and I found this form of demonstration quite descriptive so I want to share it with you. You’ll find the link to the first commit in the end of the post. Just look at the diff and read the comment to begin.

Also feel free to drop a comment here or under the particular commit to share your opinion or ask a question.

Hope you’ll enjoy the tour!

>> There it starts <<

--

--