Wine Tasting in Romania With My Chihuahua, Paco

Little dogs love Rosé

Brian Abbey
Ruff Life

--

Image by Sektkellerei Inführ from Pixabay

Years of visiting distilleries, breweries, and vineyards have taught me you can never judge a drinking buddy by the way they look. It’s what’s on the inside that counts, and whatever chihuahuas have going on inside makes them the ideal partner for your next wine tasting or lonely night at home with a Pinot Grigio and a cheese wheel.

My wife, my dog, and I recently returned from a quick trip to the seaside with a few days respite at a vineyard on our way home. Paco wasn’t a fan of the sea. He thought it was a bit cold and chaotic. He made it clear he wasn’t a water dog, but he enjoyed lounging on the fluffy beach towels and sleeping underneath our giant parasol. He was a lot more excited about the vineyard.

Upon arriving, we promptly found an open table and our tasting began.

Paco: So, people, what are we drinking here?

Brian: It begins with the pink one, the Rosé, then the Sauvignon Blanc, Merlot, and the ruby red one is the Cabernet.

Paco: Rosé? You don’t say?

Brian: I did say.

Paco: Yeah, buddy, lighten up. I’m making rhyme jokes.

Brian: I didn’t know you made jokes?

--

--

Brian Abbey
Ruff Life

expat, ex-philosopher, ex-entrepreneur writing on society, relationships, & AI singularities. VICE, Salon, & misc humor sites @brianabbey brianabbeywriter.com