A little bit confused on Vague Information

Rui Wang
Rui Wang
Published in
4 min readSep 20, 2018

My task for this week is to find some unsuccessful signages. But, unfortunately, I didn’t get one, I feel so sorry.

However, I think that the role of the logo, is to pass the correct information to people who see it. So, I did find something related to information delivery, or your can say it’s a kind of signage missing.

It’s a information on a product, for I used to be an Industrial Designer, so maybe I care more about the things that I used in normal life.

It’s not on the street, it’s just on the ITP’s floor.

It’s a Water Dispenser in the kitchen.

Water dispenser in the ITP floor.

Now, here is my story.

I can still remember the first time I used it, I I drenched the water outside the bottle and wet my hand. Then I realized that it’s because my bottle is not in the right position.

After this, I didn’t let it go and kept thinking it for a few moments, I was wondering if it is because I am stupid or if there are other factors that contribute to this mistake.

These are my excuses :

  1. The first time I saw this machine, I can read that there are 2 types of water, one is cold, the other one is hot. However the position they set the button is one on the left side and the cold one is on the right side.

2. From the top of the view, you can’t tell where the outlet is, I guess everyone can not see the “mouse” when you are standing by its side. You have to bend down to actually see it’s location.

3. The Sink on the bottom is just a plane with 3 circles. There is no bulging or depressions.

So based on those 3 reasons, I thought this is a water dispenser which has 2 outlets, one is the on the left that provides hot water which is controlled by the red button, and it still has another one on the right that serves cold water which is controlled by the blue button.

At the time, what I want to get is the cool water, so I naturally put my bottle a little bit left. One thing I want to add is that my bottle’s mouse is not very large.

I want to mention another water dispenser here.

This is the water dispenser that I have been using for over 20 years, I started to use this machine when I was in primary school.

So my point is this white machine left a deep impression! That is also a factor on this situation. Because when I see something like this, it will recall my memory.

feel similar?

How to fix it ?

A clue, which could indicates the bottle or the cup should be set here.

Some signages I like :

Thanks.

--

--