First Week

Rui Wang
Rui Wang
Published in
3 min readJul 8, 2019

Hi, my name is Jasper. I am from New York University, my major is ITP.

I am currently doing an internship at Glen Raven, Burlington this summer.

So, now, I am making a vlog to document what’s going here, you know, life, work, study, food, everything that came into my mind at this moment. This is my first time to do this, a little bit nervous, and since I am not a native English speaker, my English is not 100% fluent, but I am getting better.

I arrived at the Raleigh/Durham airport from New York City on Monday, then I called a Uber and drive all the way here. I can still remember my feelings on the car, I feel so relaxed because of the sunny weather, blue sky, wide road, trees and forest alongside the highway, this isn’t what I can see in New York, I feel like all the stress and depressions are flying away.

I am also super excited about what will happen here in the next 2 month, the company, my job, my colleague, I don’t know, but from what I used to talk to them on email or phone calls, I can feel that they are very very nice people, Paige, who offered me a change of interview, then I had a talk with Andrew, who is the industrial designer here. And Diana, who officially hired me, and offered me a lot of help on my files, without her support, I couldn’t be here successfully. And Jamie, who also helped me with my stay and a lot of paperwork. So I am really looking forward to meeting them in person.

I stayed in the Drury hotel, which is super nice! It’s far better than my room in new york, the time when I entered the room, I was like, what? Am I on vacation? or internship? So I really enjoy my stay so far.

The next day, I went to the office, and I finally see all of them, as I imagined they all super nice, Jamie helped me finished my paperwork, then Paige walked through all my schedule here, and introduced the smart fabrics to me with Andrew. We had lunch together at the break, Then, Paige introduces me to other fabrics in the gallery, I think I will spend a lot of time here to study them. The first day just past so quickly, and since I don’t have a car yet, Diana offers me a ride to my hotel, and we also had a nice talk. My first day is so great, I drunk 2 beer to celebrate it.

I start working the next day, I first figure out the property of each smart fabric, they are pretty new to me, though I knew these materials before, this time I am actually working on them. The one which really impressed me is the printed LED on fabric, I never have seen this before, and I can barely fund any projects or documents on this material. For me, it’s so amazing, it opens a totally new way of lighting. And there are a lot of things I can do.

Then come the Independent Day and weekend, I didn’t go outside, just stayed at the hotel, doing researchers, thinking about the ideas and learning other things, also going to the gym and watching TV. Have a very good sleep.

It’s a great week, and it’s so unforgettable. I want to thank everyone I met here, I am so grateful to you. I am looking forward to more progress and surprises next week.

--

--