Week 2 / More Wood Lathe

Rui Wang
Rui Wang
Published in
5 min readFeb 14, 2019

This week, we dived deep in the wood lathe machine. Ben showed us a lot of amazing things and ways to make amazing things. At first, I thought wood lathe is easy to manipulate, but I was wrong. There are tons of you of things you could play with it, and it requires experience and technique highly.

The assignment is to make a mallet. However, I only finished the half part, because I was also on another lathe project which costs me a lot of time. Meanwhile, the lathe these days is super busy. But I will finish this piece later.

Here is the process about how I make the mallet’s head. I use the 4 jaw chuck to mount the wood, I think it is more stable. And you can turn the whole opposite site to make it round or drill a hole into it.

But I am quite satisfied with my other project, which is a wood tumbler light.

Well, I previously designed an interactive light, which combines the fabric and microcontroller. And because I am still taking Tom’s Light and Interactivity class, so I think this is a good opportunity to achieve this project.

See the original sketch here.

Form the idea.

I ask Ben for advice on this project, and he told me a lot of ways to accomplish it. Thanks, Ben!

I spend a couple of time to think about how can I get a round shape wood ball. Maybe I could turn one form a wood cube, but that will take a lot of time and efforts. Then I thought maybe I could buy a wood ball online, then I just need to cut it. So I spend 14 to get a 4-inch unfinished wood ball. I thought it is a perfect round ball, but it disappointed me. It’s super rough that you can only say it’s a ball shape wood. Luckily, the wood is kind of beautiful because it has a nature hibiscus pattern.

Then I put it on the lathe and turn it really carefully to make it round. I try to make a round bottom so that this part could be held on the chuck. Then I can make it closer to a perfect round ball.

To remove the part inside, I use a chisel to turn it circle by circle. And it looks like a mushroom thing.

Ben told us we can use a profile to test the curve, so I laser cut one small piece to assist. Not a perfect round shape but close.

I also made a cylinder woodchuck to mount the round side of the ball without ruining the wood surface. It works pretty well but I can turn the speed high.

Now, I need to slowly remove the middle part. I turn it slowly fearing to break it. But suddenly, it broke!

Then I am surprised to find that the ball is hollow inside which is an empty tunnel.

However, that is so great. Because I need to put something really heavy inside the middle.

I find a heavy metal nut in the shop, then I sand the hole a little bit, put the nut inside the hole, then I mix some concrete to fill it, also can increase the weight.

Finally, I wax it on the lathe.

Now, the wood bottom is done. It looks beautiful.

Then I embedded the chip and the battery inside. Also, I sand an acyclic tube to diffuse the light.

After all these processes, my product is born. I call it Waging Candle.

Here is the video, enjoy~

--

--