An Inner Journey of Ahimsa — 18 Feb 2022

Rukmini Iyer
Rukmini Iyer
Published in
2 min readFeb 18, 2022

In my work, I have the privilege of being with some hugely inspiring people. A lot of them are young, working at the grassroots, taking on massive challenges including sustainability, climate change, gender-based violence, education and so on. And they make a huge difference in the lives of those they touch. Their care for the world keeps me going.

Given that I spend part of my time with corporate leaders, and rest in peacebuilding, I am often asked by the corporate clients if the other half of my world that I so often gush about, are ‘successful’. What is their measurable impact? Is it scalable? Why are they not better known?

Today, while the hijab row continues in Karnataka, India, some of the smaller media houses published pictures of girls in the state, some with hijab and the others without, walking to school hand in hand, in solidarity. The pictures reminded me of the response I give my clients: violence exists in us, and in our world, because we focus on it. Ahimsa exists too; only, it quietly holds hands and goes about life while the mainstream narrative makes a noise about what is wrong.

We choose violence when we give our power away to a narrow definition of success, impact, scale and fame. Anything that does not cater to these parameters is then summarily rejected and ignored. It’s a decision we make every day: in what we consume, who we vote for, who we support, what we talk about.

· What is your definition of success?

· How do we practice ahimsa in amplifying what is right in the world?

#AnInnerJourneyOfAhimsa #RukminiIyer #ExultSolutions #peacebuilding #nonviolence

<<Previous day | Next day>>

--

--

Rukmini Iyer
Rukmini Iyer

Conscious Leadership Facilitator and Coach | Peacebuilder and Educator | Writer | Founder, Exult! Solutions | www.exult-solutions.com