The Edge of Light

Zachariah Wahrer
Rumble Fish
Published in
1 min readNov 8, 2016

by Zachariah Wahrer

Momma always said to stay within the light, not to set foot in the darkness beyond the illumination of our dwelling. It left me such a small space in which to play. I listened to her commandment for so many years, wondering: “How bad could it really be?” But then I let my curiosity overwhelm me, and I stepped through that gossamer boundary. Why didn’t I stay within the village? The horrible yarns people spun were true. Why didn’t I believe? Now I know the truth and I can’t go back. It’s far worse than I ever could have imagined.

--

--

Zachariah Wahrer
Rumble Fish

I'm a Montana based sci-fi writer and author of the Dawn Saga, a space opera epic. Get the first novel free: zachariahwahrer.com/newsletter