How to pick a perfect bottle of bourbon(x)

TLDR: try flights at a bar first, choose store-pick bottles, and ask questions

Nate Lee
Ruminate Bourbon
6 min readMar 13, 2019

--

Nate Lee’s Instagram

Whether you are looking for yourself or as a gift, buying a bottle of bourbon can be a nerve-wracking experience.

Thanks to the recent bourbon boom which started around 2008, there over sixty brands out there, at various ages, and different price points.

Check your anxiety at the door though, because there are five easy tips that can help simplify your bourbon (or wine/beer/cider) buying process.

  1. Flights at a bar (or tastings at a liquor store) are your friend

When I first got into bourbon six years ago, I went to Jack Rose and ordered flights of bourbons based on staff recommendations.

Through these guided tastings, I was able to quickly figure out the flavors I like and didn’t like, in a fun environment and cost-effective manner.

At first glance, flights may appear to be expensive, but I promise you, they are not. The reason why flights can be initially cost-effective, is simple math.

In general, a flight at a bar generally is three different bourbons, one ounce pour each, for fifteen dollars. In contrast, picking up three different bourbons at a shop would be seventy-five dollars straight up, without knowing if you are going to like how they taste or not.

The equation changes though, once you realize you like a particular bourbon though. At this point, the financially responsible decision switches from the flight to buying the bottle.

So, once I figured out what I liked at Jack Rose through the flights, I found a local liquor store where I purchased the bottles I wanted.

In addition to being a more cost-effective way to explore bourbon flavors, I discovered a secret about local liquor stores that I leverage to this day.

Local liquor stores offer free tastings of really great bottles on certain days of the week/month. They will also give you a taste of something if you ask and they have it hidden someone behind the shelf.

I was able to taste some amazing bourbons for free, simply because I found a great store that had bottles opened for tastings.

So, remember to always ask for a sample before you purchase a bottle of bourbon(x).

At worst, the store will say no. At best, you’ll be able to have full confidence in a bottle before you put down your hard-earned cash.

2. Look for local stores that have store-pick (or single-barrel) bottles for sale.

Just like how consistent Starbucks coffee is every day, most bourbons on the shelf prioritize consistency over uniqueness. The bottle today will likely taste exactly the same five years from now.

While consistency is great initially, it can get boring after a while. This is where store-pick (or single-barrel) bottles come into play as the wild card.

A store-pick bottle is when someone at the store samples different barrels, and then picks the one that is best for local customers. These bottles usually have a sticker or label slapped on the bottle, that proudly proclaims that it is a store pick.

A single-barrel bottle simply means that the bourbon is sourced from a single barrel. More generic, but more unique than your normal shelf version.

The thing is, the store-pick and single-barrel bottles are priced the same as what is normally on the shelf. Most people just don’t know about store-pick or single-barrel bottles.

So, as a gift, store-pick and single-barrels are always a great choice to guarantee a unique bottle. In the best case, your bottle will be absolutely incredible. In the worst case, your bottle will taste like what is normally on the shelf.

From a personal perspective, if you are just getting into bourbon, a normal bottle might be a good way to start. Then, once you are ready, consider the store-pick or single-barrel bottle.

3. Check out stores in lower socioeconomic areas.

For the longest time, I couldn’t find any of the rare bottles that I wanted in Seattle. But then, on a recent trip to New York City (NYC), my frustration suddenly made sense.

All the great bottles of bourbon are in party cities like NYC. Every NYC liquor shop and bodega I visited, had stockpiles of the rarest bourbons.

The reason why these stores had them? Because they sold extremely high volumes of the mini bottles and cheap liquor.

Liquor companies reward stores that sell a lot of mini bottles and cheaper liquor brands.

The sale of the mini bottles and cheap bottles drives the volume, brand awareness and profit for liquor companies. This is why the rare bottles are given as a reward to discount retailers, compared to high-end retailers who don’t move as much volume.

The thing is, the people who buy mini bottles are generally not interested in the high-end bottles, which is why you can find some great bottles in stores in lower socioeconomic areas.

4. Before you order at a bar or check out at a store, consider asking, “anything else I should pick up or try while I’m here?”

The thing is, unless you are actually involved in the industry, you’ll never be as plugged in or know as much as the people who are on a daily basis. So don’t pretend or act like you know it all, because you (and I) really don’t.

To this day, I still find new bottles to taste, and tidbits of interesting history by asking this question.

Each time, I see eyes light up, as the store owner or bartender tells me about the latest and greatest. Or, confirms that I picked the right things.

I’ve found that the people who work in the spirits industry and have private or single barrel selections available, love what they do and happy to share both tastes and knowledge with anyone who asks.

So be humble and ask questions, because there’s is friendly person with a treasure trove of knowledge just waiting on the other side.

5. Become a regular to get access to the great bottles.

While liquor sales can seem transactional to the uninitiated, don’t be fooled.

The spirits industry is all about relationships, and the good stuff is always in the back room.

When I moved back to Seattle, the first thing I did was find a store that had a great selection of bourbons.

Then, I proceeded to buy bottles on a regular basis, and just chatted with the store manager.

After a month, we developed a rapport and he started hooking me up with the great bottles of bourbons.

In return, I gave him samples of bottles I had opened, and as well as my consistent business to say thank you.

During one of our many chats, he shared a story that drove home the importance of relationships in the spirits industry.

“These tech guys came in recently, with more money than what they knew what to do with, and said, I’ll pay $800 cash for a bottle of Pappy Van Winkle,” he recounted, as we both laughed.

“So I told them to go somewhere else,” he continued “because that’s not what this is about. I told them to go find somewhere that would sell them the bottles right off the street. Because everyone I know, it’s all about the relationship in this industry, and not about the money.”

--

--