WRITING

I Took Delivery of a Baby Vampire Today

It’s 409 pages of pure madness, but I hope it gets some love anyway

Charles Bastille
Ruminato
Published in
5 min readDec 15, 2023

--

Photo by author

There it is, on the dining room table, hot off the Amazon presses. It’s called a proof copy, which is why it says “Not for Resale.”

It’s my second novel, Psalm of Vampires. This one, unlike MagicLand, is self-published. I also wrote it under my real name instead of the pen name I used for MagicLand. The publisher for MagicLand didn’t think my real name would work well for SEO (Search Engine Optimization). I’ve decided that a unique pen name hasn’t made much of a difference.

One of the advantages of self-publishing through Amazon is the high royalties on printed books. If you make your eBook exclusively available through Amazon, you can also include it on Amazon Kindle Unlimited.

Kindle Unlimited makes books that authors and publishers make available for it free for people who have a Kindle Unlimited subscription.

For a lefty like myself, it makes me a little uncomfortable doing it this way, given Amazon’s market power. But the other side of this is that Amazon’s self-publishing infrastructure empowers authors. I can do my own design and layout, which empowered me to create soft-cover and hard-cover versions of my book. So I…

--

--

Charles Bastille
Ruminato

Author of MagicLand & Psalm of Vampires. Follow me on BlueSky: https://bsky.app/profile/charlesbastille.bsky.social. All stories © 2020-24 by Charles Bastille