Boston Marathon 2018 Race Report Part 1: My journey to Boston

David Tran
Run & Ruminate
Published in
7 min readMay 15, 2018

--

I previously wrote down some thoughts about running 2017 miles in 2017, but this is my first ever attempt at a race report. I was definitely riding off the adrenaline high from running my first Boston Marathon and needed a few d̶a̶y̶s̶ weeks to really fully process and reflect on the journey. Okay, I won’t lie — I was waiting for MarathonFoto to discount the race photos because I missed the pre-race sale and the Asian part of me didn’t want to pay full price for the race photos. But I digress. I wanted to share my experience and hope this can be helpful for someone who’s looking for running inspiration, hoping to qualify for Boston, planning to run the Boston Marathon, or planning to run another bad-weather race in the future. In this first post, I wrote about how Boston became a dream, and then a goal for me. If you’re just looking for the race report, you can skip ahead to the second post. Or, if you want to read about how I get into running after trying out for the JV basketball team, you can do that here.

At the finish line of the Boston Marathon 2018. This journey started years before I toed the line at Hopkinton.

I first heard the phrase “Boston qualify” on the night before I ran my first marathon a little less than five years ago. My friend Sid and I drove up to our Airbnb for the Santa Rosa Marathon in 2013 and met another runner and her husband who were staying in one of the other rooms. She had run a few marathons and mentioned that she…

--

--

David Tran
Run & Ruminate

Building the best place to get work done at flow.club. I write about software, startups & running at davidtran.me and occasionally publish here.