2023: A Year of Pounding Pavement and Soaring Spirit – My Half Marathon Journey

Saif Haque
Run With Intention
Published in
7 min readJan 2, 2024

My running story didn’t begin in 2023, but it certainly reached new heights throughout this incredible year. From the lively streets of London to the scenic paths of Oxfordshire, I put on my running shoes and completed ten half marathons. Each race was a distinct and memorable part of my running journey.

Image taken from Official race photos that I paid for.
Photo captured on my iPhone by a fellow runner.

The journey began in November 2022, not with a tentative toe dip, but with a full-fledged plunge into the London Olympic Park Half Marathon. This iconic course, winding through the legacy of the 2012 Games, sparked a passion within me. The Olympic Stadium, Velodrome, and Aquatics Centre whispered tales of athletic prowess, urging me to push my own limits.

Photo Credits to @jerry_sun (Instagram)

Next came the camaraderie of group runs with Tracksmith, weaving through the heart of London, past Battersea Bridge and the leafy haven of Battersea Park. Running alongside fellow enthusiasts fueled my passion, while a solo half marathon in the quiet streets of Beckenham taught me the value of self-reliance and mental fortitude.

Photos taken on my iPhone by a run buddy.

In March, I took on the Superstore Wilderness Run, a 23km journey through the varied scenery of North London. The Superstore Wilderness Run had a profound impact on my self-discovery journey. Navigating through such diverse landscapes, from serene countryside to bustling urban parks, mirrored the variety of experiences and emotions I encountered within myself. Each step in this run helped me uncover new strengths and perspectives, reinforcing the idea that beauty and growth often come from unexpected places.

Photos captured on my iPhone before & after Hackney Half Marathon race.
Official Race Photos that I paid for.
Photo captured on my iPhone

During spring and summer, I participated in three London half marathons: the Hackney Half, the Big Half, and the Royal Parks Half. Each race showcased a different side of the city and helped me achieve a personal best of 1 hour 51 minutes. The cheering crowds and the thrill of pushing my limits deepened my passion for running.

  • Hackney Half: This race took me through the vibrant streets of East London, with its eclectic mix of cultures and lively atmosphere. The energy of the local community was infectious, making every mile an exciting experience.
  • The Big Half: Running through iconic landmarks like Tower Bridge and the Cutty Sark, this race offered a stunning tour of London’s historic sites. The blend of old and new architecture provided a unique backdrop that kept me motivated throughout.
  • Royal Parks Half: This race was a scenic journey through some of London’s most beautiful green spaces, including Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. The lush surroundings and the sight of autumn leaves made it a truly picturesque run.
Official Race Photo that I paid for.

In October, I completed two training Half Marathon runs to gear up for my first international half marathon — the Valencia Half in Spain. This renowned event, part of the SuperHalfs series, The Valencia Half Marathon stood out in several ways:

  • International Experience: Unlike my previous races in the UK, this was my first international event. The excitement of traveling and running in a new country added a unique thrill.
  • Weather: The sunny, warm climate of Valencia was a refreshing change from the often cooler and unpredictable weather in London. It brought a different set of challenges and fun.
  • Course and Scenery: The route through Valencia’s sun-drenched streets, historic landmarks, and vibrant neighbourhoods was incredibly picturesque. The city’s lively atmosphere and enthusiastic spectators made the experience unforgettable.
  • Event Prestige: Being part of the SuperHalfs series, the Valencia Half had a prestigious feel. The organisation, the scale of the event, and the international runners all contributed to its grandeur.

Overall, the Valencia Half was a memorable and enriching experience that broadened my horizons as a runner. The sunny streets and lively ambiance of Valencia made a lasting impression on me.

Photos taken on iPhone

But the year wasn’t over yet. December brought the Maverick Adidas Terrex Original Oxfordshire event, starting at the historic Stonor Park, known for its ancient deer herds. This trail run was more than just a race; it was a challenge against the elements. Frozen paths, biting winds, and steep 22% climbs tested my physical and mental strength. However, the stunning scenery and the victory of overcoming nature’s hurdles made it an unforgettable experience.

Photo taken on my iPhone

And finally, my year concluded with a solo half marathon on familiar ground, a victory lap celebrating the incredible journey of 2023.

Ten half marathons, ten different landscapes, ten unique challenges, and one constant — the unwavering spirit of a runner. Reflecting on this journey, I see not just the miles covered, but the personal growth achieved, confidence gained, and a deepened love for running. Each step, each race, has brought me closer to the person I aspire to be — resilient, determined, and always chasing the thrill of the next finish line.

This is just the beginning of my running story, and I eagerly anticipate what 2024 will bring. So, lace up your shoes, join me on the pavement, and let’s run towards our own epic adventures!

A Brief overview of training plan

My training routine is a mix of different activities to keep things interesting and effective. Here’s a breakdown:

  1. Consistency: I run about 3–4 times a week, mixing up long runs (15–20km), speed work(mixing with Threshold & VO2 max), and recovery runs (5–10km easy runs). Long runs help build endurance, while speed work improves my pace.
  2. Strength Training: Twice a week, I focus on strength training to build muscle and prevent injuries. This includes exercises like weighted squats, lunges, and core workouts.
  3. Cross-Training: I incorporate activities like cycling and walking to give my running muscles a break and improve overall fitness.
  4. Rest and Recovery: Rest days are crucial. I make sure to have at least one full rest day each week to allow my body to recover. Sleep is most important aspect of my recovery.
  5. Nutrition: Eating a balanced diet with plenty of protein, carbs, and healthy fats helps fuel my runs and aid recovery.
  6. Hydration: Staying hydrated is key, especially during long runs and hot weather.
  7. Flexibility and Mobility: I include stretching and yoga sessions to maintain flexibility and prevent stiffness

Lessons I have Learned through the journey of my small runs to Half Marathon:

1. Resilience Beyond Limits: Each race tested my physical and mental boundaries, teaching me the power of resilience amidst challenges.

2. Community and Camaraderie: Shared runs highlighted the importance of community in fostering passion and support. Through group runs I have met so many new people with positive energy and passion for sports.

3. Adapting to Diversity: Varied terrains showcased have taught me lessons on adaptability, finding beauty in unexpected places, mirroring personal growth.

4. Global Unity in Running: Through International races I see the universal connection through running, transcending borders.

Reflection:

Reflecting on this transformative journey, I’ve discovered invaluable lessons in resilience, community, adaptability, and global unity through running. I invite you to share your experiences, queries, or insights. Let’s connect, learn, and stride forward together in pursuit of our running passions! Questions, comments, or your own inspiring stories? Feel free to share below!

Thanks for reading! If you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read, remember to follow the publication (and clap/comment too!). Want to write for Run With Intention? Please check out our submission guidelines and ask to be added as a writer in the comments of that post. And don’t forget to check out the Run With Intention Facebook group.

--

--

Saif Haque
Run With Intention

Tech pro:AI and Cloud Computing, blending love of sports-cycling, running and hiking. Follow my journey:debut marathon prep & 100 miles challenge ride.