Another Benefit to Running

How I took my thoughts for an emotional lap and discovered a new reason to run

Jeff Allen
Run With Intention

--

The human brain capable of so much.
Photo by Natasha Connell on Unsplash

Most of the time I run I do it for my physical health. Last night I ran for my mental health, and it was unbelievable.

Admittedly, I use running to better my physical condition. My goals are to increase my cardio endurance, promote good circulation, and compound the effects of a mostly healthy diet.

Not often do I set out on a run because I want to think. I don’t want to think when I run. I just want to be moving and taking my environment in with every step.

Last night was different. I had something on my mind from a conversation I had earlier. It was a conversation with my youngest son, and I needed to really think about it.

As I set out, I wandered in and out of focusing on the conversation we had. Eventually though, I settled into moving and thinking simultaneously. You know what? It worked for me.

And you thought dudes couldn’t chew gum and walk at the same time?!

That run was eye-opening for me. Not only did I get a workout in, but I was able to really process my approach to finishing my conversation with my son. It worked flawlessly as I was able to communicate my thoughts effectively when we continued our…

--

--

Jeff Allen
Run With Intention

Husband, father, lifetime DIY'er, runner, former small business owner, and tech enthusiast sharing perspective thru writing. And now a Drabbler! Author, one day