Change Up Your Workout Rhythm

How I’ve been working out lately to beat that poor air quality

Jeff Allen
Run With Intention

--

A person riding a spin bike for exercise in a gym while looking out the window.
Photo by Joshua Sukoff on Unsplash

With the never-ending poor air quality this summer I’ve made some changes to my running habits. At first it was to be short-lived, but lately it’s become routine.

I’ve cut my outdoor running down significantly and have focused more on strength training and my spin bike workouts. I still get one, sometimes two, runs in a week.

What I’ve learned from this change is that my body appreciates it. I was dealing with some heel pain anyway a few weeks ago. I wrote about it here in fact.

Now, when I do go for my runs, I try to keep them to no more than three miles. Again, the air quality is just so poor these days, I don’t want to push it too much. No worries about time, just getting miles in.

The amazing thing I’ve noticed is that my legs and lungs feel more prepared to run than when running was my primary workout. I’ve read before, and exchanged thoughts on Medium about it, but there’s value in switching things up. Or moreover…

--

--

Jeff Allen
Run With Intention

Husband, father, lifetime DIY'er, runner, former small business owner, and tech enthusiast sharing perspective thru writing.