Confessions Of A New Runner: Running And Injury

Caitlin McColl
Run With Intention
Published in
4 min readApr 5, 2024

--

Photo by Nate Johnston on Unsplash

(If you aren’t a Medium member and want to read this article in full for free, click here. If you are a Medium member — thank you for your support!)

I think I started running back in 2012 sometime. Definitely 2013.

I went looking through old Facebook posts to try and find the answer, and I found one from May 31st 2012 that outlined what I did at the gym which was: an hour on the treadmill of fast walking interspersed with a minute of running every few minutes. Perhaps that was the start of me running? But I didn’t write about it (on Facebook) again until 2013 where my first post mentioning actual running was May 26th 2013 where I talked about running 5km.

So it looks like I ran from 2012 until February 2016. I stopped running after I completed a virtual Sherlock Holmes 221B run in that month. It was 22.1 miles. It wasn’t something you had to do in one go, but however long it took you. But I remember just running and crying. In the gym at work. Which was not enjoyable. Both the treadmill and the crying.

I was crying because my mom had passed away December 15th, 2015, just a few weeks before. On January 1st 2016 I made the New Year Resolution to start a daily yoga practice, which I’m still doing now (3,016 days), to help support me in my grief. But, for some reason, after I finished that…

--

--

Caitlin McColl
Run With Intention

Writer on mental health, grief & loss, mindfulness, running, life musings (+ fiction and poetry!). ❤️coffee & dogs. Vancouver 🇨🇦