Experimenting With “Jeffing” (Run/Walk/Run Method) Ratios And Running Speed

Caitlin McColl
Run With Intention
Published in
4 min readMay 11, 2024

--

Photo by Alessio Soggetti on Unsplash

I had wanted to run yesterday but didn’t have time to in the morning as I was meeting a friend early to spend a few hours at the local aquarium and go for a walk. Then I had hoped to run when I got home in the afternoon but it was far too hot (23C, don’t know what that is in F!).

So I did some more 2km(1.2mi) ‘jeffing’ tests this morning to compare to the other day.

I ended up doing two 2km sessions and ended with just a single 1km test at another different ratio (to round out to 5km), so I’ll share the mile paces and then also compare at the 1km mark. Remember that these times are in seconds — and the first number is running time and the second number is walking time. So 60:30 is 60 seconds (1 minute) running, 30 seconds walking.

Test 1

Ran this 60:30. 1 mile pace was 7:54mins/km (12:43mi).

Total moving time (for the full 2km/1.2mi) was 16 minutes and 6 seconds, average pace 7:57.

1km: 7:46

Test 2

Ran this 45:30. 1 mile pace was 7:55/km (12:45/mi). So basically the same as 60:30!

Total moving time (for full 2km/1.2mi) was 16 mins 32 secs, average pace 8:09. So it took me a bit longer (24 seconds) that the…

--

--

Caitlin McColl
Run With Intention

Writer on mental health, grief & loss, mindfulness, running, life musings (+ fiction and poetry!). ❤️coffee & dogs. Vancouver 🇨🇦