Putting a New Lens on Your Favourite Run Routes

A running rut can impact your motivation and desire to run

Kelly Benson
Run With Intention

--

A sandy track leading to a beach with calm water. Gums trees lining the track
Early evening sunset at Phillip Island. Credit: All images are the author’s own.

Returning to running after time off can be a good reset. In my case, I’m back to running short distances after an injury, returning to my shorter routes close to home.

As I was able to run again, I was using the treadmill. I prefer outside, but during recovery, the treadmill has been good for controlling my pace and distance so I don’t overdo it. And it’s winter in Melbourne. It’s been cold, windy, rainy and generally weather that makes you want to move to Queensland.

However, when we got a perfect Melbourne winter day, I couldn’t help getting out.

The sky was a deep blue and the air was crisp but windless. The vibrant sky intensified the colours of everything.

A 4k loop to a local park and home is one of my lunch runs. After so long, the thuds of my feet on the footpath were cathartic. This route I’d run a thousand times felt new, I sucked in the cool air and let my eyes wander.

I was drawn to the camellias in flower, and the assortment of greens in the gardens. As I took a photo a cat watched, cool indifference emanating from her spot on the window sill. The silhouettes of the winter trees drew my attention.

--

--

Kelly Benson
Run With Intention

25y as a software developer | 6 continents traveller | wannabe writer | Women & shares meetup host | 15+ years as a beginner runner